Why Biden Buries American LNG


In his previous article I promised to tell you how the famous epic with the construction of the SP-2 ended and why Biden, who replaced Trump, is burying the American gas business. I keep my promise. So, Biden's reasons - why is he burying American LNG.


Reason number 1. It is impossible to oust a cheaper product from the market with a more expensive product.


Please note that there is no SP-2 yet, and American LNG is in no hurry to get to Europe. I was not in a hurry yesterday under Trump, and I am not in a hurry today under Biden, but why? Even if we ignore the higher price offer in Southeast Asia (we will assume that it does not exist), what prevents the Americans from squeezing the EU gas market from Gazprom? The answer is simple to the point of banality - it is not possible to oust cheap Russian pipe gas from the European market with more expensive American gas with a relative equality of their consumer qualities! Even sanctions. European regasification LNG terminals have been underutilized for years, some have even been mothballed (in Spain, for example). Who is to blame for this - Gazprom or the invisible hand of the market? At the same time, do not forget that the Europeans' gas needs are only growing (this is both an increase in consumption and a decrease in domestic production).

Conclusion: The Americans can still get into the EU market, but they will not be able to squeeze Gazprom. And Biden got it.

Reason number 2. American LNG loses not only to pipeline gas from Russia, but also to LNG from Russia


Production costs at Yamal LNG are only $ 0,1 per million British thermal units, while American producers are forced to buy gas from their own gas hub Henry Hub for about $ 2,6. That is why it is even more profitable for the Americans not to drive their own gas carrier across the Atlantic to the EU, but to outbid the Russian production of Yamal LNG - and "here you go, if you please have a bite." As they say, nothing personal is business!

Reason number 3. Lack of own gas carriers


Chartering a fleet is very expensive. A fresh example of this, when a terrible cataclysm happened in China, South Korea and Japan in January-February of this year with the Siberian 18-degree frosts that descended on them, fettering all their green energy, gas prices soared 7 times, updating the 6-year highs. Together with them, the prices for LNG transportation soared - carriers lifted them by 700%. And the Americans do not have their own LNG transport fleet. And even if they want to build it, they will find that there are no free shipyards in the world for such volumes. Three shipbuilding giants in South Korea - Daewoo, Hyundai and Samsung (the Koreans dominate this market) have reserved a significant part of their production capacity for 7 years ahead until 2027 to fulfill the order of Qatar Petroleum (the agreement provides for the construction of more than 100 LNG tankers, for a total amount of more than $ 20 billion).

As a result, Biden, after scratching his turnips and realizing that it would be impossible to reduce Gazprom's share in the European gas market, especially considering his long-term contracts for the supply of “blue fuel” signed with many EU countries until 2030-40, and realizing the doom of cavalry attacks with a bare saber against Russian gas tanks (in the literal and figurative sense of the word, given that there are not only gas tanks), and, not forgetting about the cost of American LNG and Russian pipe gas, backed down with the construction of SP-2. And he did it so cleverly that even I took off my hat in front of his ingenuity. As a result, he retained the location of Germany and did not seem to lose his face.

Here the majority, following the events on TV, will exclaim: “Op-packs! How so? Why don't we know anything about it ?! " Because the Americans do not like to trumpet their defeats. Moreover, it cannot be called a defeat. The states have achieved their goal - Europe is defeated and humbly ready to carry out the commands of the white master. Namely, the Americans fought with her, or rather not with her, but for the influence on her. They do not care about the Russian Federation, no matter how offensive it will be to all Russian patriots, Gazprom just fell under the arm, it is not so different according to the principle: "Don't stand under the arrow!" and "Who did not hide - I am not to blame." The war was fought over influence on the EU. And the Americans won this war. How they did it, more on that below.

Biden's cunning feint with SP-2


For those who have forgotten the chronology of events, I will remind you that on January 1 of this year, the US Senate, overcoming the veto of the then President Trump, adopted the defense budget for 2021 with amendments limiting the completion of construction, certification and commissioning of the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline. (The Turkish Stream also appeared there, but they were late with it, it has already been completed and is functioning), having carried out these amendments by the law of the US Congress "On the Pentagon's budget for 2021." It seemed that this was the complete finish of the SP-2 project.

Even if Biden really wanted to meet Frau Merkel halfway, he would not be able to cancel this document. Because the laws of the Congress are not regulated by decrees of the President, another law is needed to cancel the one already adopted. And in the US Congress there is complete consensus on this issue - both "donkeys" and "elephants" were in favor of sanctions with both parts of the body. Seemingly insoluble problem? End of Nord Stream 2. But Biden deftly twisted himself, masterfully walking between Scylla and Charybdis. How did he do it?

Recently, a representative of the US State Department submitted to Congress a list of organizations against which the State Department plans to impose sanctions on Nord Stream 2. To their surprise, the congressmen did not find a single German company there, and of the Russian ones, only the pipe-laying ship Fortuna and its owner, KBT-Rus, turned out to be there.

And it's all? Senate Republican leader Mitch McConnell couldn't contain his indignation:

Simply put, the current sanctions are completely inadequate. The intentions of Congress are clear and cannot be ignored: ... stop the completion of the malicious construction of the Russian Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline. The application of sanctions only against the Russian pipe-laying vessel Fortuna and its owner KVT-RUS, on which the previous administration had already imposed sanctions, does not correspond to this intention. Completion of the construction of this pipeline would be nothing more than a victory for Vladimir Putin

- he said.

For those who have forgotten, I will remind you that this is the same senator who, a couple of years ago, when the Russian agent Trump was president and the Democrats were in opposition, was nicknamed Moscow Mitch for his suspicious love for the Russian Federation. From which one can draw the obvious but paradoxical conclusion that Russophobia in American politics is not purposeful policies White House, but serves only as an instrument of internal political struggle. For a long time, the United States has not seen Russia as an enemy that threatens American domination, with which it is necessary to purposefully fight as a top priority. Under Trump, the Kremlin's agents were Republicans. Under Biden, the Democrats took their place. As they say, nothing personal - the law of conservation of energy. The water cycle in nature.

But in this situation we are more interested in what will knock Sleepy Joe out of Frau Merkel in exchange for this? Agree, not a standard move - the permission of a specific route bypassing Ukraine in exchange for its forced life-long maintenance by Russia and the right to Uncle Sam to keep Germany in one place. Very nice divorce! Especially considering the fact that with the growth of gas consumption in the near future, Europe still cannot do without the Ukrainian pipe. And by that time, the Americans, I think, will take the Ukrainian pipe under full control not only de facto, but also de jure, joining the consortium of future shareholders. Well, wait and see.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 5 March 2021 08: 52
    +2
    The answer is simple to the point of banality - it is not possible to oust cheap Russian pipe gas from the European market with more expensive American gas with a relative equality of their consumer qualities! Even sanctions.

    True? And if the supply from Russia is simply cut off? For example, in the event of an escalation of an armed conflict? Isn't it a sanction?
    What then will happen to gas prices in the EU and where will gas carriers from Southeast Asia sail?
    1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
      Just a cat (Bayun) 5 March 2021 09: 15
      0
      It can't be! The whole world is with Ukraine! Therefore, a consortium of rusty pipe shareholders will be created. laughing And spending more money on maintaining this highway than it brings in income is the dream of any investor!
    2. Volkonsky Offline Volkonsky
      Volkonsky (Wolf) 5 March 2021 16: 36
      0
      The conflict, as I understand it, requires the participation of two parties. And what will happen if the Russian side does not come to the war? In this war, it is very important who attacks whom. What prevented the blocking of transit before that? There were enough reasons - from the Crimea to the downed Boeing, bulk and so on. I don’t even drag the creaks here. By the way, the overlap is also possible only through sanctions (how else can the States put a valve on the pipe?) And Europe's consent to that. And if the Poles and so on. Labuses agree, then the Germans, Austrians, Italians and so on. Slovaks have a different point of view
      So we are waiting for an attack by the Armed Forces of Ukraine on the LPNR, although this scenario does not fit well with the imposition of sanctions by the State Department on SP-2
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 5 March 2021 09: 27
    0
    I've already read this somewhere, a talk about McConnell, quite recently ...
    And so surprisingly good.
    Malek is surprised that the president is "himself engaged in the sale of gas", and does not help the companies ...
    But since no one knows the capitalists in our country by their names, it’s even audible; Biden, Biden, Biden, Biden .....

Зачем Байден хоронит американский СПГ


В своей предыдущей статье я обещал рассказать, чем закончилась знаменитая эпопея со строительством СП-2 и почему пришедший на смену Трампу Байден хоронит американский газовый бизнес. Выполняю обещанное. Итак, резоны Байдена – зачем он хоронит американский СПГ.


Резон №1. Нельзя более дорогим товаром вытеснить с рынка более дешевый


Обратите внимание, СП-2 еще никакого нет, а американский СПГ чего-то в Европу не спешит. Не спешил вчера при Трампе, не спешит и сегодня при Байдене, а почему? Даже если абстрагироваться от более высокого ценового предложения в ЮВА, (будем считать, что его нет), что мешает американцам отжать газовый рынок ЕС у «Газпрома»? Ответ до банальности прост – вытеснить с европейского рынка дешевый российский трубный газ более дорогим американским при относительном равенстве их потребительских качеств – не возможно! Даже санкциями. Европейские регазификационные СПГ-терминалы годами стоят недозагруженные, некоторые даже законсервированы (в Испании, например), кто в этом виноват – «Газпром» или невидимая рука рынка? При этом не забываем, что потребности европейцев в газе только растут (тут и рост потребления, и снижение собственной добычи).

Вывод: На рынок ЕС американцам еще можно влезть, но потеснить «Газпром» уже не удастся. И Байден это понял.

Резон №2. Американский СПГ проигрывает не только трубопроводному газу из России, но и СПГ из России


Стоимость добычи на заводе «Ямал СПГ» составляет всего $0,1 на миллион британских термальных единиц, тогда как американские производители вынуждены покупать газ на собственном газовом хабе Henry Hub по цене около $2,6. Именно поэтому американцам даже выгоднее не гнать собственный газовоз через Атлантику в ЕС, а перекупить российский производства «Ямал СПГ» – и «нате пожалте, извольте откушать». Как говорится, ничего личного – это бизнес!

Резон №3. Отсутствие собственных газовозов


Фрахт флота – дело весьма дорогое. Свежий тому пример, когда в Китае, Южной Корее и Японии в январе-феврале этого года приключился страшный катаклизм с сибирскими 18-градусными морозами, спустившимися на них, сковавшими всю их зеленую энергетику, цены на газ взлетели в 7 раз, обновив 6-летние максимумы. Вместе с ними взлетели и цены на перевозку СПГ – перевозчики задрали их на 700%. А у американцев собственного флота для перевозки СПГ нет. И даже если они его и захотят построить, то обнаружат, что в мире нет свободных верфей под такие объемы. Три судостроительных гиганта Южной Кореи – Daewoo, Hyundai и Samsung (корейцы доминируют на этом рынке) на 7 лет вперед до 2027 года зарезервировали значительную часть своих производственных мощностей для выполнения заказа Qatar Petroleum (соглашением предусматривается строительство более 100 СПГ-танкеров, на общую сумму более 20 млрд. долл).

В результате Байден, почесав репу и поняв, что уменьшить долю «Газпрома» на европейском газовом рынке не получится, особенно учитывая его долгосрочные контракты на поставку «голубого топлива», подписанные со многими странами ЕС вплоть до 2030-40 гг, и понимая обреченность кавалерийских атак с голой шашкой против русских газовых танков (в прямом и переносном смысле этого слова, учитывая, что танки бывают не только газовые), и, не забывая про себестоимость американского СПГ и русского трубного газа, пошел на попятную со строительством СП-2. Причем сделал это настолько хитро, что даже я снял перед его изобретательностью шляпу. По итогу и расположение Германии сохранил и лицо, вроде, не потерял.

Тут большинство, следящих за событиями по ящику, воскликнут: «Оп-пачки! Как так? А почему мы ничего об этом не знаем?!». А потому что американцы не любят трубить о своих поражениях. Тем более что и поражением это назвать нельзя. Штаты своего добились – Европа повержена и смиренно готова выполнять команды белого господина. А именно с нею и воевали американцы, точнее не с нею, а за влияние на нее. На РФ им плевать, как не обидно это будет слышать всем российским патриотам, «Газпром» просто под руку попался, не он так другой по принципу: «Не стой под стрелой!» и «Кто не спрятался – я не виноват». Война шла за влияние на ЕС. И эту войну американцы выиграли. Как это им удалось, об этом ниже.

Хитрый финт Байдена с СП-2


Для тех, кто забыл хронологию событий, я напомню, еще 1 января этого года Сенат США, преодолев вето тогдашнего президента Трампа, принял оборонный бюджет на 2021 год с поправками, ограничивающими окончание строительства, сертификацию и ввод в эксплуатацию газопровода «Северный поток-2» (там фигурировал еще и «Турецкий поток», но с ним они опоздали, он уже достроен и функционирует), проведя эти поправки законом Конгресса США «О бюджете Пентагона на 2021 год». Казалось, что это был полный финиш проекта СП-2.

Даже если бы Байден и очень захотел пойти навстречу фрау Меркель, то он бы не смог отменить этот документ. Потому что законы Конгресса указами Президента не регулируются, нужен другой закон, отменяющий уже принятый. А в Конгрессе США по этому поводу полный консенсус – и «ослы», и «слоны» обеими частями тела были за санкции. Казалось бы, неразрешимая задача? Конец «Северного потока-2». Но Байден ловко вывернулся, мастерски пройдя между Сциллой и Харибдой. Как же ему это удалось?

На днях представитель Госдепа США передал в Конгресс список организаций, в отношении которых Госдеп планирует ввести санкции по «Северному потоку-2». К своему удивлению конгрессмены там не обнаружили ни одной немецкой компании, а из российских там оказалось лишь судно-трубоукладчик «Фортуна» и его собственник компания КВТ-Рус.

И это всё? Лидер республиканцев в Сенате Митч МакКоннелл не мог сдержать своего негодования:

Проще говоря, нынешние санкции совершенно неадекватны. Намерения Конгресса ясны, и их нельзя игнорировать: ... остановить завершение злонамеренного строительства российского газопровода «Северный поток-2». Применение санкций только в отношении российского трубоукладочного судна «Фортуна» и его владельца KVT-RUS, на которые предыдущая администрация уже наложила санкции, не соответствует этому намерению. Завершение строительства этого трубопровода было бы не чем иным, как победой Владимира Путина

– заявил он.

Для тех, кто забыл, я напомню – это тот самый сенатор, которого пару лет назад, когда президентом был русский агент Трамп, а демократы находились в оппозиции, прозвали Moscow Mitch за его подозрительную любовь к РФ. Из чего можно сделать очевидный, но парадоксальный вывод, что русофобия в американском политикуме не является целенаправленной политикой Белого дома, а служит лишь инструментом внутриполитической борьбы. США уже давно не видят в России врага, угрожающего американскому доминированию, с которым надо целенаправленно бороться в качестве первоочередной задачи. При Трампе агентами Кремля были республиканцы. При Байдене их место заняли демократы. Как говорится, ничего личного – закон сохранения энергии. Круговорот воды в природе.

Но нас в этой ситуации больше интересует, что выбьет Сонный Джо из фрау Меркель в обмен на это? Согласитесь, не стандартный ход – разрешение конкретного обходного Украину маршрута в обмен на принудительное пожизненное ее содержание Россией и право дядюшке Сэму держать Германию за одно место. Очень красивый развод! Особенно учитывая тот факт, что при росте потребления газа Европе в ближайшей перспективе все равно без украинской трубы не обойтись. А к тому времени американцы, думаю, возьмут украинскую трубу под полный контроль не только де-факто, а и де-юре, войдя в состав консорциума будущих акционеров. Ну что же, поживем – увидим.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 5 марта 2021 08:52
    +2
    Ответ до банальности прост – вытеснить с европейского рынка дешевый российский трубный газ более дорогим американским при относительном равенстве их потребительских качеств – не возможно! Даже санкциями.

    Правда? А если поставка из России будет просто перекрыта? Например, в случае эскалации некоего вооруженного конфликта? Чем не санкция?
    Что тогда будет с ценами на газ в ЕС и куда поплывут газовозы из ЮВА?
    1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
      Просто Кот (Баюн) 5 марта 2021 09:15
      0
      Этого не может быть! Весь мир с Украиной! Поэтому консорциум акционеров ржавой трубы будет создан. laughing А тратить на поддержание работоспособности этой магистрали денег больше чем она приносит дохода вообще мечта любого инвестора!
    2. Волконский Офлайн Волконский
      Волконский (Владимир) 5 марта 2021 16:36
      0
      Конфликт, я так понимаю, требует участия двух сторон. А что будет, если российская сторона на войну не явится? В этой войне очень важно, кто на кого нападет. Что мешало перекрыть транзит до этого? Поводов было достаточно - от Крыма до сбитого Боинга, навальных и проч. скрипалей даже сюда не приплетаю. Кстати, и перекрытие тоже возможно только через санкции (как еще Штаты могут задвижку на трубу поставить?) и согласие на то Европы. И если поляки и проч. лабусы согласны, то немцы, австрияки, итальянцы и проч. словаки имеют на то другую точку зрения
      Так что ждем нападения ВСУ на ЛДНР, хотя в этот сценарий не очень укладывается не наложение санкций Госдепом на СП-2
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 5 марта 2021 09:27
    0
    Гдето я это уже читал, спитч о МакКоннелле, совсем недавно...
    А так на удивление хорошо.
    Малек удивляет, что президент какбы "сам занимается продажей газа", а не способствует компаниям...
    Но т.к. капиталистов никто не знает у нас по именам, то и слышно ; Байден,Байден,Байден,Байден.....