Investigation of a military commander from the United States dispels myths about the invincibility of "Bayraktar"


The wars in Syria, Libya, and then in Nagorno-Karabakh became the best advertisement for attack drones. UAVs of Turkish and Israeli production colorfully destroyed the armored vehicles of the Syrian government army, the army of Field Marshal Khalifa Haftar, and then the Armenians who defended Artsakh. At the same time, they also destroyed a number of Pantsir-S1 air defense missile systems, which called into question the effectiveness of Russian-made short-range air defense systems. However, over time, more and more information appears that allows us to look at this issue from a different angle.


So what do we have. On the one hand, there is Bayraktar TB2, a Turkish medium-altitude operational tactical unmanned aerial vehicle capable of staying in the air for up to 2 hours and carrying 12 UMTAS air-to-ground anti-tank missiles with laser guidance. There is also a variant equipped with Roketsan MAM-C, MAM-L corrected high-precision gliding bombs. During the battle for northern Syria, the confrontation near Tripoli and the 4-week war for Nagorno-Karabakh, "Bayraktars" proved to be a formidable weapon, effectively hitting enemy armored vehicles at a distance of up to 6 kilometers.

The production of these UAVs is carried out by Baykar Makina, owned by a relative of President Erdogan, businessman Ozdemir Bayraktar. In 2016, his son Selcuk married the youngest daughter of the "Sultan", and President of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev and Emir of Qatar Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani attended the wedding as honorable bones. We are deliberately pointing out these nuances, since the attitude towards Baykar Makina products will clearly be biased with a plus sign both in Ankara and in Baku. East is a delicate matter.

On the other hand, there is the Russian Pantsir-S1 air defense missile system. It is a self-propelled short-range air defense system designed to cover military and civilian targets. It is considered a "bodyguard" for the S-400 "Favorite" air defense system. This air defense missile system was created in close cooperation with the UAE with funds allocated by the Arab sheikhs. For this reason, a lot of "Shells" with the index "E" ended up in the hands of the army of Khalifa Haftar in Libya. It is no secret that the Emirates are one of the active sponsors of the Field Marshal. Taking into account the fact that Russian air defense systems were in service with the Syrian government army, the Libyan national army (LNA) and the Armenian army, the attitude towards domestic air defense systems on the part of our Middle Eastern "friends and partners" standing on the other side of these conflicts is clearly biased with a sign "minus". We will also have to take this nuance into account.

Let's go further. I would like to quote one without exaggeration of a great man, German Chancellor Otto von Bismarck:

They never lie so much as during the war, after the hunt and before the election.

In war, everyone always lies, overestimating the enemy's losses and underestimating their own. This is, in general, the norm, an element of disinformation and propaganda. Should the conflicts in Syria, Libya and Nagorno-Karabakh be an exception to this rule? Why would you?

Last summer, the Ukrainian publication "Defense Express", calling itself "Vіyskovy portal", told the world that Turkish attack UAVs in just a few years destroyed at least 23 "Shells" in Syria and Libya. To suspect an "information and consulting company" specializing in highlighting the achievements of the military-industrial complex of Ukraine, its weapons and military equipment, in sympathy or at least an objective attitude towards Russia and its military-industrial complex, is not possible. Also, the reports of huge losses of Russian-made air defense missile systems from the Turkish Anadolu agency are not particularly credible.

No, we will not deny the very fact of the destruction of several Pantsir-S1 complexes of the Bayraktar UAV. There was a case, and there are several explanations for this. In particular, the low level of training of local Arab settlements. In more skillful hands, anti-aircraft complexes showed themselves much better. The question is in the number of actually knocked out air defense missile systems and downed UAVs following the results of their confrontation. These figures are openly embellished in favor of the Turkish side, which is not surprising. But there are also other views on this issue.

For example, a certain resonance was caused by publication American "fan of military technology" Jeff Jaworski (Jeff Jaworski). He counted, with reference to his own sources, a completely different amount of destroyed equipment. According to him, in Libya, the Turks were able to knock out only 9 Russian-made air defense missile systems, and they, in turn, knocked down 47 Turkish Bayraktar TB2s. If we take into account the comparative cost of "Armor" and attack UAVs, then the LNA even won, if, of course, we take the death of the calculations aside and count it like an accountant. 9 air defense missile systems cost the purchasers $ 118 million, and 47 UAVs - $ 245 million.

Of course, the private opinion of the American "fan of military technology" cannot be considered the ultimate truth. But all the more, it cannot be the openly biased position of the Ukrainian publication "Defense Express" or the Turkish "Anadolu". It so often happens that the truth is gradually selected from under the heap of information and propaganda slops poured on it. It is quite possible that this is exactly the case. Time will tell.

Let's make a reservation that we do not question the effectiveness of Turkish or Israeli attack UAVs. They did really well against an unprepared opponent. But the fact of the matter is that they work well only where there are no modern anti-aircraft systems with highly qualified experimental calculations. The main area of ​​application of such attack drones in reality is mainly regional or local conflicts with a relatively low intensity.
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Ser sash Offline Ser sash
    Ser sash (Ser Sash) 13 March 2021 20: 00
    +1
    I repeat, again, the lack of preparation of calculations is not an excuse.
    This only indicates that the technique is difficult to master, and this is rather a minus in modern realities.
    Now the emphasis is on automating the process in order to make the operator's participation, and therefore the human factor, minimal.
    And with this we have obvious problems. The third generation ATGM has not yet been made.
  2. Wanderer039 Offline Wanderer039
    Wanderer039 13 March 2021 20: 43
    +4
    Even if you count as an accountant, the preparation of the dead calculations also costs money and not small. The most expensive part of an airplane is a good pilot, the story is the same with the air defense system.
    1. Binder Online Binder
      Binder (Miron) 13 March 2021 21: 29
      -3
      Quote: Wanderer039
      The most expensive part of an airplane is a good pilot, the story is the same with the air defense system.

      Quite right. It is for this reason that the future belongs to drones, a good operator sits in an air-conditioned room, sips coffee and controls UAVs, which are just a consumable, just a piece of iron with plastic, a set of stamped parts that can be easily and naturally replicated and improved without exposing danger to the lives of their soldiers. And in the confrontation between the UAV and the ZRPK, if it is defeated, the calculation of the complex dies, or at least gets injured, the drone always has an advantage.
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 13 March 2021 21: 57
    -3
    Ha. All bullshit. Either they refer to the eternally doused ukrov, or to some Yusovite, without verification.
    The military probably keeps records, but they are silent. And surely they could boast ...
    1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 14 March 2021 08: 06
      +1
      Ukrainians are interested persons, an American - what is his profit?
      To the military to boast for what and to which particular military? It was about Libya. There, as it were, not our military are fighting, but the LNA.
      1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
        Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 14 March 2021 10: 47
        0
        If they do not keep track of at least their sold Shells, then this is F ...
        Surely there are instructors, a repair center, for spare parts, for the supply of spent weapons, etc.

        And on UAVs - they could also collect information. Almost a full-time job of an analyst. And this would be an advantage over the Yusovite - not only newspapers, but also internal information about supplies, about application, from instructors ...
        If this is not the case, then F ....., IMHO ..
    2. akarfoxhound Offline akarfoxhound
      akarfoxhound 15 March 2021 17: 39
      +1
      No one will ever give out real numbers about their equipment, this is the real available combat effectiveness of equipment, therefore "the military could not and cannot boast," especially to satisfy the curiosity of idle fans to grind "for war".
  4. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 14 March 2021 08: 09
    0
    Quote: Ser Sash
    I repeat, again, the lack of preparation of calculations is not an excuse.
    This only indicates that the technique is difficult to master, and this is rather a minus in modern realities.

    This is the argument! Bravo. Let's continue this logic.
    I think the American F-35 is a g ... but an airplane, since you can't just get into it and fly on a combat mission. Also, you know, you have to study for many years. Nonsense, not an excuse!
    1. Ser sash Offline Ser sash
      Ser sash (Ser Sash) 14 March 2021 09: 18
      -1
      Have you flown the F - 35? Where does the information come from that piloting it requires special skills?
  5. Vladest Offline Vladest
    Vladest (Vladimir) 15 March 2021 01: 56
    -4
    Someone claimed that Bayraktars are invincible? They were also shot down quite a bit. But the damage that they did is much more.
    Bayraktars pay for themselves.
    The year 2020 can be safely called the year of Bayraktar! )))
  6. Cyril Offline Cyril
    Cyril (Kirill) 17 March 2021 13: 40
    -1
    Firstly, no one has ever called drones - neither Turkish, nor American, nor Israeli, etc. - invincible. No one, including in Turkey, denied that their UAVs were destroyed by anti-aircraft systems - Russian or some other.

    Secondly, the essence of the UAV is that even if the aircraft itself is lost, the main thing is not lost - the pilot.

    No, we will not deny the very fact of the destruction of several Pantsir-S1 complexes of the Bayraktar UAV. There was a case, and there are several explanations for this. In particular, low level of training of local Arab settlements

    Arab calculations are being trained by Russian specialists. At least in Syria. That is, the teachers from the Russians turned out to be so-so, or what?

    In more skillful hands, anti-aircraft complexes showed themselves much better.

    Is it about Russia? Nobody has used Bayraktars against Russia yet. Used handicraft UAV-kamikaze.

    The question is in the number of air defense missile systems actually knocked out and UAVs shot down following their confrontation.

    Not. The question is in achieving military goals.

Расследование военкора из США развеяло мифы о непобедимости «Байрактара»


Войны в Сирии, Ливии, а потом и в Нагорном Карабахе стали лучшей рекламой для ударных беспилотников. БПЛА турецкого и израильского производства красочно крушили бронетехнику сирийской правительственной армии, воинства фельдмаршала Халифы Хафтара, а потом и армян, защищавших Арцах. При этом ими также было уничтожено некоторое количество ЗРПК «Панцирь-С1», что поставило под вопрос эффективность систем ПВО ближнего радиуса действия российского производства. Однако по прошествии времени появляется все больше информации, позволяющей взглянуть на этот вопрос под другим углом.


Итак, что мы имеем. С одной стороны, есть «Байрактар ТБ2» (Bayraktar TB2) – турецкий средневысотный оперативно-тактический беспилотный летательный аппарат, способный находиться в воздухе до 12 часов и нести на подвеске 4 противотанковые ракеты класса «воздух-земля» UMTAS с лазерным наведением. Также есть вариант с оснащением корректируемыми планирующими высокоточными авиабомбами Roketsan MAM-C, MAM-L. Во время битвы за север Сирии, противостояния под Триполи и 6-недельной войны за Нагорный Карабах «Байрактары» показали себя грозным оружием, эффективно поражающим бронетехнику противника на расстоянии до 8 километров.

Производством данных БПЛА занимается компания Baykar Makina, принадлежащая родственнику президента Эрдогана бизнесмену Оздемиру Байрактару. В 2016 году его сын Сельчук женился на младшей дочери «султана», а на свадьбе в качестве почетных костей присутствовали президент Азербайджана Ильхам Алиев и эмир Катара Тамим бин Хамад Аль Тани. Эти нюансы мы нарочно указываем, поскольку отношение к продукции компании Baykar Makina явно будет предвзятым со знаком «плюс» как в Анкаре, так и в Баку. Восток – дело тонкое.

С другой стороны, имеется российский ЗРПК «Панцирь-С1». Это самоходный комплекс ПВО ближнего радиуса действия, разработанный для прикрытия военных и гражданских объектов. Считается «телохранителем» для ЗРК С-400 «Фаворит». Создавался данный ЗРПК в тесном сотрудничестве с ОАЭ на средства, выделенные арабскими шейхами. По этой причине очень много «Панцирей» с индексом «Э» оказалось в руках воинства Халифы Хафтара в Ливии. Не секрет, что Эмираты являются одним из активных спонсоров фельдмаршала. С учетом того, что российские комплексы ПВО стояли на вооружении сирийской правительственной армии, ливийской национальной армии (ЛНА) и армянской армии, отношение к отечественным ЗРПК со стороны наших ближневосточных «друзей и партнеров», стоящих по другую сторону этих конфликтов, явно предвзятое со знаком «минус». Этот нюанс мы тоже должны будем учитывать.

Идем далее. Хотелось бы процитировать одного без преувеличения великого человека, германского канцлера Отто фон Бисмарка:

Никогда столько не лгут, как во время войны, после охоты и до выборов.

На войне врут всегда и все, завышая потери противника и занижая свои. Это, в общем-то, норма, элемент дезинформации и пропаганды. Должны ли быть исключением из данного правила конфликты в Сирии, Ливии и Нагорном Карабахе? С чего бы?

Летом прошлого года украинское издание «Defense Express», называющее себя «військовий портал», поведало миру о том, что турецкие ударные БПЛА всего за несколько лет уничтожили в Сирии и Ливии не менее 23 «Панцирей». Заподозрить «информационно-консалтинговую компанию», специализирующуюся на освещении достижений оборонно-промышленного комплекса Украины, ее вооружений и боевой техники, в симпатии или хотя бы объективном отношении к России и ее ВПК, не представляется возможным. Также не вызывают особого доверия сообщения об огромных потерях ЗРПК российского производства от турецкого агентства «Anadolu».

Нет, сам факт уничтожения нескольких комплексов «Панцирь-С1» БПЛА «Байрактар» мы отрицать не будем. Было дело, и тому есть несколько объяснений. В частности, низкий уровень подготовки местных арабских расчетов. В более умелых руках зенитные комплексы показывали себя намного лучше. Вопрос в количестве реально подбитых ЗРПК и сбитых БПЛА по итогам их противостояния. Эти цифры откровенно приукрашиваются в пользу турецкой стороны, что неудивительно. Но есть и иные взгляды на этот вопрос.

Например, определенный резонанс вызвала публикация американского «фаната военных технологий» Джеффа Яворски (Jeff Jaworski). Он насчитал со ссылкой на свои собственные источники совершенно иное количество уничтоженной техники. По его данным, в Ливии турки смогли подбить всего 9 ЗРПК российского производства, а те в свою очередь сбили 47 турецких «Bayraktar TB2». Если учесть сравнительную стоимость «Панцирей» и ударных БПЛА, то ЛНА даже оказались в выигрыше, если, конечно, взять за скобки гибель расчетов и считать, как бухгалтера. 9 ЗРПК обошлись приобретателям в $118 млн, а 47 БПЛА – $245 млн.

Разумеется, частное мнение американского «фаната военных технологий» не может считаться истиной в последней инстанции. Но тем более не может ею быть откровенно ангажированная позиция украинского издания «Defense Express» или турецкого «Anadolu». Так часто бывает, что истина постепенно выбирается из-под кучи вылитых на нее информационно-пропагандистских помоев. Вполне возможно, что это как раз тот самый случай. Время покажет.

Оговоримся, что мы не подвергаем сомнению эффективность турецких или израильских ударных БПЛА. Они действительно хорошо показали себя против неподготовленного противника. Но в том-то и дело, что они хорошо работают лишь там, где нет современных зенитных систем с высоковалифицированными опытными расчетами. Основной областью применения таких ударных беспилотников в реальности являются преимущественно региональные или локальные конфликты с относительно низкой интенсивностью.
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Ser Sash Офлайн Ser Sash
    Ser Sash (Ser Sash) 13 марта 2021 20:00
    +1
    Повторюсь, который раз - неподготовленность расчетов не оправдание.
    Это лишь указывает на то, что техника сложна в освоении, а это в современных реалиях скорее минус.
    Сейчас делается упор на автоматизацию процесса, что бы сделать участие оператора, а следовательно человеческий фактор, минимальным.
    А с этим у нас явные проблемы. ПТРК третьего поколения до сих пор не сделали.
  2. Странник039 Офлайн Странник039
    Странник039 13 марта 2021 20:43
    +4
    Даже если считать как бухгалтера,подготовка погибших расчетов тоже стоит денег и не малых. Самая дорогая деталь самолета,это хороший летчик,с ЗРК история та же.
    1. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
      Биндюжник (Мирон) 13 марта 2021 21:29
      -3
      Цитата: Странник039
      Самая дорогая деталь самолета,это хороший летчик,с ЗРК история та же.

      Совершенно верно. Именно по этой причине будущее за дронами, хороший оператор сидит себе в кондиционированном помещении, попивает кофе и управляет БПЛА, которые всего лишь расходный материал, просто железяка с пластиком, набор штампованных деталей, который легко и непринужденно можно тиражировать и совершенствовать, не подвергая при этом опасности жизни своих военнослужащих. И в противостоянии БПЛА - ЗРПК, при поражении которого гибнет, или как минимум, получает ранения расчет комплекса, преимущество всегда у беспилотника.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 13 марта 2021 21:57
    -3
    ха. Фигня все. То на вечно обливаемых укров ссылаются, то на какогото юсовца, без проверки.
    Военные наверняка ведут учет, но они молчок. А уж похвастаться наверняка б смогли...
    1. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 14 марта 2021 08:06
      +1
      украинцы лица заинтересованные, американец - в чем его профит?
      Военным похвастаться за что и каким конкретно военным? Речь шла про Ливию. Там как бы не наши военные воюют, а ЛНА.
      1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 14 марта 2021 10:47
        0
        Если они не следят хотябы за проданными своими Панцирями - то это Ж......
        Наверняка есть инструкторы, центр по ремонту, по запчастям ,по поставкам израсходованного оружия и т.п.

        И по БПЛА - тоже могли бы собирать инфу. Чуть ли не штатная работа аналитика. И в этом то перед юсовцем было бы преимущество - не только газетки, но и внутренняя инфа о поставках, о применении, от инструкторов...
        Если этого нет, то Ж....., имхо..
    2. akarfoxhound Офлайн akarfoxhound
      akarfoxhound 15 марта 2021 17:39
      +1
      Никто о своей технике никогда не выдаст реальных цифр, это реальная располагаемая боевая эффективность техники, поэтому "военные похвастаться не могли и не могут", тем более для удовлетворения любопытства праздных любителей перетереть "за войнушку".
  4. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 14 марта 2021 08:09
    0
    Цитата: Ser Sash
    Повторюсь, который раз - неподготовленность расчетов не оправдание.
    Это лишь указывает на то, что техника сложна в освоении, а это в современных реалиях скорее минус.

    Вот это аргумент! Браво. Продолжим эту логику.
    Думаю, американский F-35 - г..но самолет, раз нельзя так просто сесть в него и полететь на боевое задание. Еще, понимаешь, учиться надо много лет. Ерунда какая-то, а не оправдание!
    1. Ser Sash Офлайн Ser Sash
      Ser Sash (Ser Sash) 14 марта 2021 09:18
      -1
      Вы летали на Ф - 35? Откуда информация, что его пилотирование требует особых навыков?
  5. Владест Офлайн Владест
    Владест (Владимир) 15 марта 2021 01:56
    -4
    Кто то утверждал что Байрактары непобедимы ? Их тоже не мало сбили. Но ущерб что они нанесли гораздо больше.
    Байрактары себя окупают.
    Год 2020 можно смело назвать годом Байрактара! )))
  6. Cyril Офлайн Cyril
    Cyril (Кирилл) 17 марта 2021 13:40
    -1
    Во-первых, никто и никогда не называл беспилотники - ни турецкие, ни американские, ни израильские и т. д. - непобедимыми. Никто, в том числе в Турции, не отрицал факт уничтожения их БПЛА зенитными системами - российскими или какими-то еще.

    Во-вторых, суть БПЛА заключается в том, что даже при потере самого летательного аппарата не теряется главное - пилот.

    Нет, сам факт уничтожения нескольких комплексов «Панцирь-С1» БПЛА «Байрактар» мы отрицать не будем. Было дело, и тому есть несколько объяснений. В частности, низкий уровень подготовки местных арабских расчетов

    Арабские расчеты проходят подготовку у российских специалистов. По крайней мере в Сирии. То есть преподаватели из россиян так себе оказались, что ли?

    В более умелых руках зенитные комплексы показывали себя намного лучше.

    Это про Россию? Против России никто "Байрактары" не применял еще. Применяли кустарно изготовленные БПЛА-камикадзе.

    Вопрос в количестве реально подбитых ЗРПК и сбитых БПЛА по итогам их противостояния.

    Нет. Вопрос в достижении военных целей.