Melting ice will call into question Russian sovereignty over the Northern Sea Route


A week-long downtime on the Suez Canal has drawn increased attention to the Northern Sea Route as a possible alternative to the traditional southern transport corridor. As a competitive advantage of the NSR, it is quite rightly called its shorter length on the way from Asia to Europe. However, there is also a well-founded criticism of him for the complexity of navigation among the polar ice and higher transport costs. A certain average estimate sounds like this: The Northern Sea Route has great potential, but it will take more than a dozen years to reveal its potential and it will be very expensive. The key question is: should Russia do this on its own, or would it be more expedient to create some kind of international consortium? Let's try to figure it out.


First, about the pleasant. The Northern Sea Route has received new life today. The first cargo transportation along it went back in the 30s of the last century. At the end of the Soviet era, their peak reached a volume of 6,6 million tons per year, and after the collapse of the USSR, they fell to a level of 1,5 million tons. About 10 years ago, active recovery began due to the implementation of Russian oil and gas projects in the Arctic. From 4 million tons in 2014, cargo traffic increased to 20 million in 2018 and 31,5 million tons in 2020. By 2024, President Vladimir Putin set a goal to bring this figure to 80 million tons, but during the coronavirus pandemic and the decline in oil production and consumption, these plans were forced to be adjusted downward. Despite this, the pace of development of the Northern Sea Route is recognized as "astronomical". The Zvezda superyard has been created in Primorye, where ice-class vessels are being actively built and giant Leader-class icebreakers are laid down.

Everything seems to be fine, and we can cope with everything ourselves. However, there are important nuances. The bulk of this disruptive growth in freight traffic comes from the transportation of Russian oil and LNG. But when they talk about the Northern Sea Route as an alternative to the Suez Canal, it is understood that not only tankers with hydrocarbons should go along it, but also ordinary bulk carriers transporting containers from Asia to Europe. For more information on why it is impossible to simultaneously transfer these commodity flows from the southern route to the northern route, we told earlier. Let us list in a nutshell the main problems facing carriers: difficult navigation among ice, the need to use ships of a special ice class, and also to accompany them with icebreakers. In addition, along the coastline of the Arctic Ocean, there should be a developed port infrastructure, where tankers and bulk carriers could dock, replenish fuel and food supplies, receive repairs, and their crews could rest. Apart from Murmansk, Russia has no other deep-water ice-free ports there. The construction of the appropriate infrastructure in the harsh Arctic conditions requires huge investments, with which we are under pressure today.

Objectively, the problem of choice arises: to continue to do everything on our own "quietly" or to attract foreign partners and develop the Northern Sea Route together with them within the framework of international cooperation. Despite its apparent simplicity, this choice is far from obvious. The key issue is the legal status of the NSR, which all interested parties interpret in different ways. The Russian position is based on Soviet legal doctrine, and Moscow regards the Northern Sea Route as “a historically established national transport communication”. In accordance with this, the following is stated in the Navigation Rules for this area:

The organization of navigation of ships in the water area of ​​the Northern Sea Route is carried out by the Administration of the Northern Sea Route, created in the form of a federal government institution. In the water area of ​​the Northern Sea Route, there is a permitting procedure for navigation of ships.

The Russian Federation charges foreign vessels for pilotage and icebreaking services, justifying this by the need to maintain the infrastructure of the NSR, to protect the marine environment and its biodiversity. Moscow strongly opposes the use of icebreakers belonging to other states. Despite this, the United States and China are currently actively building their own icebreaker fleet. Why does Beijing need its Snow Dragon 2? But guess three times.

It is clear that China is interested in the Arctic region, in its natural resources and opportunities provided by the NSR. However, in our country there are many opponents of attracting Beijing to the Russian part of the Arctic, arguing that “the Chinese will come, take everything away and dirtiest it”. Indeed, if you give them freedom, many entrepreneurs from the PRC can behave in a similar way. The question is different. China and the United States both have clear Arctic ambitions, financial resources, and a strong production base. They will come to the Northern Sea Route anyway, it's only a matter of time, and here's why.

Let's turn to the text of the 1982 Convention on the Law of the Sea, which underlies the Russian position on the NSR, and in accordance with which Moscow writes the rules for the use of its water area. Article 234 of this international agreement states the following:

Coastal states have the right to enact and enforce non-discriminatory laws and regulations to prevent, reduce and control marine pollution from ships in ice-covered areas within the exclusive economic zones where especially severe climatic conditions and the presence of ice covering such areas for most of the year create obstacles or increased danger to navigation, and pollution of the marine environment could seriously harm the ecological balance or irreversibly disrupt it.

In "ice-covered areas"? “The presence of ice that impedes navigation”? When this text was written, it was not taken into account that the polar ice will melt at such a rate. This natural process can play a cruel joke with our country. On the one hand, the natural clearing of the Northern Sea Route benefits us. On the other hand, the liberation of the water area from permanent ice cover calls into question the exclusivity of Russia's role in control over it. Therefore, in the end, other players will come to the Arctic, who will jointly seek to change the special status of the Northern Sea Route to the international one. It's just a matter of time.

What should we do? You can pretend that everything is in order, or you can work proactively. Russia has the longest coastline and the largest icebreaker fleet in the world in the Arctic Ocean. These are two of our inherent advantages that can be used even if other people's icebreakers start walking along the NSR. It is already possible to create an international consortium to invite China and other interested countries, which will be ready to invest in the construction of coastal port infrastructure on our territory, as well as create a merchant fleet of ice-class ships. By launching Leader-class super icebreakers, Russia will be able to provide caravan escorting services at any time of the year, earning money on transit through SPM and servicing other people's ships.
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) April 2 2021 13: 00
    +16
    In addition to Murmansk, Russia has no other deep-water ice-free ports there.

    Murmansk is not included in the Northern Sea Route project.

    In "ice-covered areas"? “The presence of ice that impedes navigation”? When this text was written, it was not taken into account that the polar ice will melt at such a rate. This natural process can play a cruel joke with our country.

    Are the border regions "wandering" along with the ice? Rich imagination and an irrepressible desire to find upcoming troubles in anything is playing a cruel joke on you.

    What should we do?

    You stop predicting the apocalypse, and we accordingly read about it.
  2. Netyn Offline Netyn
    Netyn (Netyn) April 2 2021 19: 27
    +3
    Quote: 123
    You stop predicting the apocalypse, and we accordingly read about it.

    And there is nothing to add, everything is correctly substantiated)
  3. Volder Offline Volder
    Volder April 2 2021 23: 16
    +2
    Foreign icebreakers will not dare to navigate the long Northern Sea Route without the possibility of using the coastal and island infrastructure of Russia (naval bases), as well as without pilotage services (the bottom has been explored by Russia, but not by other countries). Other players can make as many attempts as they like to change the special status of the Northern Sea Route, but without Russia's participation in this matter, they will not succeed. In 15 years, when the Northern Sea Route begins to fully function, Russia will have enough weapons and warships to defend its national interests in the icy waters of the Arctic.
    1. Panikovsky Offline Panikovsky
      Panikovsky (Mikhail Samuelevich Panikovsky) April 9 2021 19: 20
      0
      Quite right. Whoever wants to go through the North Pole even now. Along the Russian Northern Sea Route, only according to our laws, and of course, pay.
  4. Wanderer039 Offline Wanderer039
    Wanderer039 April 3 2021 01: 11
    +6
    1) The last winter was cold and a number of scientists talk about the beginning of a small ice age on Earth 2) Everything will depend on the inhabitants of the Kremlin, that under the USSR no one disputed his Arctic possessions, but how Shevardnadze and Medvedev began to merge the maritime possessions of Russia to neighboring countries, so the mess went and the territorial claims of the Russian Federation, even Sprat Extinctions dare to present
  5. ksa Offline ksa
    ksa April 8 2021 22: 13
    0
    The active functioning of the NSR will dramatically increase the cost of protecting the northern border of Russia. Its length is more than 22 thousand km. The activity of the NATO submarine fleet in this region will increase. Again, as you know, there are cruise missile launchers housed in standard shipping containers. Conditions of service in the area are critical.

Таяние льдов поставит под вопрос российский суверенитет над Севморпутём


Недельный простой на Суэцком канале привлек повышенное внимание к Северному морскому пути как возможной альтернативе традиционному южному транспортному коридору. В качестве конкурентного преимущества СМП вполне справедливо называется его меньшая протяженность на пути из Азии в Европу. Однако звучит и вполне обоснованная его критика за сложность навигации среди полярных льдов и более высокие транспортные издержки. Некая усредненная оценка звучит так: Севморпуть обладает большим потенциалом, но раскрывать его потенциал придется еще не один десяток лет и это будет стоить очень дорого. Ключевой вопрос: должна ли Россия делать это своими силами или более целесообразным будет создание некоего международного консорциума? Давайте попробуем разобраться.


Сначала о приятном. Северный морской путь сегодня получил новую жизнь. Первые грузоперевозки по нему шли еще в 30-е годы прошлого века. Под закат советской эпохи их пик достиг объема в 6,6 миллиона тонн в год, а после распада СССР упал до уровня в 1,5 миллиона тонн. Примерно 10 лет назад началось активно восстановление, обусловленное реализацией российских нефтегазовых проектов в Арктике. С 4 миллионов тонн в 2014 году грузопоток вырос до 20 миллионов в 2018-м и 31,5 миллиона тонн в 2020 году. К 2024 году президент Владимир Путин поставил целью довести эту цифру до 80 миллионов тонн, однако в период пандемии коронавируса и снижения добычи и потребления нефти эти планы вынужденно были скорректированы в меньшую сторону. Несмотря на это, темпы развития Севморпути признаны «астрономическими». В Приморье создана суперверфь «Звезда», на которой активно строятся суда ледового класса и заложены гигантские ледоколы класса «Лидер».

Вроде бы, все хорошо, и мы сами со всем справляемся. Однако есть важные нюансы. Основную часть этого прорывного роста грузоперевозок обеспечивает транспортировка российских нефти и СПГ. Но когда говорят про Севморпуть как альтернативу Суэцкому каналу, подразумевается, что по нему должны ходить не только танкеры с углеводородами, но и обычные сухогрузы, перевозящие контейнеры из Азии в Европу. Подробнее о том, почему нельзя одномоментно перекинуть эти товарные потоки с южного маршрута на северный, мы рассказывали ранее. Перечислим в двух словах основные проблемы, которые стоят перед перевозчиками: сложная навигация среди льдов, необходимость использовать суда специального ледового класса, а также сопровождать их ледоколами. Ко всему прочему, на протяжении береговой линии Северного Ледовитого океана должна иметься развитая портовая инфраструктура, где танкеры и сухогрузы могли бы встать на стоянку, пополнить запасы топлива и продовольствия, получить ремонт, их экипаж – отдохнуть. Помимо Мурманска иных глубоководных незамерзающих портов у России там нет. Строительство соответствующей инфраструктуры в суровых арктических условиях требует огромных инвестиций, с чем у нас сегодня напряженка.

Объективно возникает проблема выбора: продолжать все делать своими силами «тихой сапой» или привлечь иностранных партнеров и развивать Севморпуть совместно с ними в рамках международной кооперации. При кажущейся простоте, это выбор далеко не очевиден. Ключевой вопрос – это правовой статус СМП, который все заинтересованные стороны трактуют по-разному. Российская позиция основана на советской правовой доктрине, и Москва считает Севморпуть как «исторически сложившуюся национальную транспортную коммуникацию». В соответствии с этим, в Правилах плавания в данной акватории сказано следующее:

Организация плавания судов в акватории Северного морского пути осуществляется администрацией Северного морского пути, созданной в форме федерального казенного учреждения. В акватории Северного морского пути действует разрешительный порядок плавания судов.

За лоцманскую и ледокольную проводку Российская Федерация взимает с иностранных судов плату, обосновывая это необходимостью содержания инфраструктуры СМП, защиты морской среды и ее биоразнообразия. Москва выступает резко против использования ледоколов, принадлежащих другим государствам. Несмотря на это, США и Китай в настоящее время активно строят собственный ледокольный флот. Зачем Пекину свой «Снежный дракон-2»? А вот догадайтесь с трех раз.

Понятно, что Китай заинтересован в арктическом регионе, в его природных ресурсах и возможностях, которые предоставляет СМП. Однако в нашей стране есть немало противников привлечения Пекина в российскую часть Арктики, аргументируя это тем, что якобы «китайцы придут, все отберут и загадят». И правда, если дать им вольницу, многие предприниматели из КНР могут себя вести подобным образом. Вопрос в другом. У Китая и США есть и явные арктические амбиции, и финансовые ресурсы, и мощная производственная база. Они и так придут на Северный морской путь, это лишь вопрос времени, и вот почему.

Давайте обратимся к тексту Конвенции по морскому праву от 1982 года, которая лежит в основе российской позиции по СМП, и в соответствии с которой Москва пишет правила использования его акватории. В статье 234 данного международного соглашения сказано следующее:

Прибрежные государства имеют право принимать и обеспечивать соблюдение недискриминационных законов и правил по предотвращению, сокращению и сохранению под контролем загрязнения морской среды с судов в покрытых льдами районах в пределах исключительной экономической зоны, где особо суровые климатические условия и наличие льдов, покрывающих такие районы в течение большей части года, создают препятствия либо повышенную опасность для судоходства, а загрязнение морской среды могло бы нанести тяжелый вред экологическому равновесию или необратимо нарушить его.

В «покрытых льдом районах»? «Наличие льдов, препятствующих судоходству»? Когда писался данный текст, не учитывалось, что полярные льды будут таять такими темпами. Этот природный процесс может сыграть с нашей страной злую шутку. С одной стороны, естественная расчистка Северного морского пути идет нам на пользу. С другой стороны, освобождение акватории от постоянного ледового покрова ставит под вопрос эксклюзивность роли России по контролю за ней. Стало быть, в конечном итоге в Арктику придут и другие игроки, которые совместно будут добиваться изменения особого статуса Севморпути на международный. Это просто вопрос времени.

Что делать нам? Можно делать вид, что все в порядке, а можно сработать на упреждение. У России на Северном Ледовитом океане имеются самая протяженная береговая линия и самый большой ледокольный флот в мире. Это два наших неотъемлемых преимущества, которые можно использовать, даже если по СМП начнут ходить чужие ледоколы. Можно уже сейчас создать международный консорциум, куда пригласить Китай и другие заинтересованные страны, которые будут готовы вложиться в строительство береговой портовой инфраструктуры на нашей территории, а также создадут торговый флот из судов ледового класса. Спустив на воду суперледоколы класса «Лидер», Россия сможет предоставить услуги проводки караванов в любое время года, зарабатывая на транзите по СПМ и обслуживании чужих судов.
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 2 апреля 2021 13:00
    +16
    Помимо Мурманска иных глубоководных незамерзающих портов у России там нет.

    Мурманск не входит в проект Севморпуть.

    В «покрытых льдом районах»? «Наличие льдов, препятствующих судоходству»? Когда писался данный текст, не учитывалось, что полярные льды будут таять такими темпами. Этот природный процесс может сыграть с нашей страной злую шутку.

    Граница районов "кочует" вместе со льдами? Злую шутку с вами играет богатая фантазия и неуёмное желание найти грядущие неприятности в чем угодно.

    Что делать нам?

    Вам перестать предсказывать апокалипсис, а нам соответственно читать про него.
  2. Netyn Офлайн Netyn
    Netyn (Netyn) 2 апреля 2021 19:27
    +3
    Цитата: 123
    Вам перестать предсказывать апокалипсис, а нам соответственно читать про него.

    И добавить нечего, все грамотно обосновал)
  3. Volder Офлайн Volder
    Volder 2 апреля 2021 23:16
    +2
    Чужие ледоколы не рискнут ходить по длинному Севморпути без возможности использования прибрежной и островной инфраструктуры России (морские базы), а также без услуг лоцманской проводки судов (дно исследовано Россией, а другими странами - нет). Другие игроки могут сколько угодно предпринимать попытки изменить особый статус Севморпути, но без участия России в этом вопросе у них ничего не получится. Через 15 лет, когда Севморпуть начнёт полноценно функционировать, у России будет достаточно оружия и боевых кораблей, чтобы защищать национальные интересы в ледяных водах Арктики.
    1. паниковский Офлайн паниковский
      паниковский (Михаил Самуэлевич Паниковский) 9 апреля 2021 19:20
      0
      Совершенно верно. Через Северный Полюс пусть ходит кто хочет хоть сейчас. По Российскому Севморпути, только по нашим законам, и платить, естественно.
  4. Странник039 Офлайн Странник039
    Странник039 3 апреля 2021 01:11
    +6
    1) Последняя зима была холодной и ряд ученых говорит о начале малого ледникового периода на Земле 2) Все будет зависеть от обитателей кремля,что то при СССР никто его арктические владения не оспаривал,а как начали Шеварднадзе и Медведев сливать морские владения России сопредельным странам ,так и пошел бардак и территориальные претензии РФ даже Шпротные Вымираты осмеливаются предъявлять
  5. ksa Офлайн ksa
    ksa 8 апреля 2021 22:13
    0
    Активное функционирование СМП резко увеличит затраты на охрану северной границы России. Её длина более 22 тыс. км. Усилится активность подводного флота НАТО в этом регионе. Опять же, как известно, существуют пусковые установки крылатых ракет, размещающиеся в стандартных морских контейнерах. Условия несения службы в этом районе критические.