"Until a replacement appears": Erdogan explained his position on the Montreux convention


Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan explained his position on the 1936 Montreux Convention regulating the passage of warships into the Black Sea. At a press conference in Ankara on April 5, 2021, he called the publication of an open letter inadmissible, which spoke about the importance of the mentioned international agreement, signed by more than a hundred Turkish admirals.


It is unacceptable for 104 admirals to gather and distribute such a document. This act cannot be considered a manifestation of freedom of speech.

- said Erdogan.

According to the Turkish leader, he is not criticizing the Montreux Convention, but the "initiative" of the retired military. He specified that it allowed the restoration of Turkey's sovereignty over the Bosphorus and Dardanelles straits.

The Montreux Convention was an important achievement for Turkey at that time. And we intend to continue to comply with its provisions until a suitable replacement appears.

He explained.

The Turkish leader stressed that the construction of the Istanbul Canal does not violate the said Convention.

The Istanbul Canal is designed to strengthen Turkey's sovereignty over the Bosphorus. And those who oppose this project are the true enemies of our republic.

- he explained.

Note that Ankara, since the moment of signing, has never officially questioned the prescribed regime of the Black Sea Straits, although there have always been those in Turkey who have sought the denunciation of the Convention. Recently in the Turkish government approved zoning plan for the Istanbul canal, which should run parallel to the Bosphorus, unloading it. It was after this that the military expressed concern about the future fate of the international treaty. They called for an end to any discussion about the possibility of the country's withdrawal from the Convention and demanded that the existing constitution of the country be preserved.

Erdogan wants to amend the Basic Law and "cement" the existing government. Naturally, the opposition objects. At least 10 signers of the agreed letter have already arrested local Prosecutor General's Office. In fact, we are witnessing an internal political struggle in Turkey, one of the elements of which is the resonant theme of the Black Sea Straits. Turkey's withdrawal from the Convention will call into question its sovereignty over the Bosphorus and Dardanelles.
  • Used photos: http://www.kremlin.ru/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) April 6 2021 13: 28
    +1
    104 admirals - If 1 admiral is like a general, brigade commander, or division commander, then what are the naval forces of the Turks?
    And they can start building with the commissioning of a nuclear power plant. Then the power will appear.

«Пока не появится замена»: Эрдоган объяснил свою позицию по конвенции Монтрё


Президент Турции Реджеп Тайип Эрдоган объяснил свою позицию по конвенции Монтрё 1936 года, регулирующей проход военных кораблей в Черное море. На пресс-конференции в Анкаре 5 апреля 2021 года он назвал недопустимым публикацию открытого письма, в котором говорилось о важности упомянутого международного соглашения, подписанного более чем сотней турецких адмиралов.


Недопустимо, чтобы 104 адмирала собирались и распространяли подобный документ. Этот акт нельзя считать проявлением свободы слова

– сообщил Эрдоган.

Со слов турецкого лидера, он критикует не конвенцию Монтрё, а «самодеятельность» отставных военных. Он уточнил, что она позволила восстановить суверенитет Турции над проливами Босфор и Дарданеллы.

Конвенция Монтрё была важным свершением для Турции в тот период. И мы намерены продолжить выполнять её положения до тех пор, пока не появится подходящая замена

– объяснил он.

Турецкий лидер подчеркнул, что строительство канала «Стамбул» не нарушает указанную Конвенцию.

Канал «Стамбул» призван укрепить суверенитет Турции над проливом Босфор. А те, кто выступает против этого проекта, являются истинными врагами нашей республики

– пояснил он.

Заметим, что Анкара, за все время с момента подписания, ни разу официально не ставила прописанный режим Черноморских проливов под сомнение, хотя в Турции всегда были те, кто добивался денонсации Конвенции. Недавно в правительстве Турции утвердили план зонирования канала «Стамбул», который должен пройти параллельно Босфору, разгрузив его. Именно после этого военные выразили обеспокоенность по поводу дальнейшей судьбы международного договора. Они призвали прекратить любые дискуссии о возможности выхода страны из Конвенции и потребовали сохранить существующую конституцию страны.

Эрдоган хочет внести изменения в Основной закон и «зацементировать» существующую власть. Естественно, оппозиция возражает. Как минимум 10 подписантов оговоренного письма уже задержаны местной Генпрокуратурой. Фактически мы наблюдаем внутриполитическую борьбу в Турции, одним из элементов которой стала резонансная тема Черноморских проливов. Выход Турции из Конвенции поставит под сомнение её суверенитет над проливами Босфор и Дарданеллы.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://www.kremlin.ru/
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 6 апреля 2021 13:28
    +1
    104 адмирала - Если 1 адмирал, это как генерал, комбриг, или комдив, то какие тогда морские силы у турок?
    А строить могут начать с вводом АЭС. Тогда и мощности появятся.