Does the Russian military have the right to jam the American reconnaissance RQ-4 Global Hawk


Over the past few years, American manned and unmanned reconnaissance aircraft have become a constant and unwelcome guest in the Black Sea and over the Nezalezhnaya steppes. The US Air Force Northrop Grumman RQ-4B-40 GlobalHawk UAVs take off from the Sigonella airbase in Italy, fly over the Russian southern border, then along the Crimea head to the contact line in Donbas, and then return back with intelligence. In fact, this has already become a permanent US Air Force watch over the Black Sea water area and Ukraine. Recently, however, various troubles have begun to occur with American UAVs.


So, at the end of April 2021, during a recent large-scale military exercise, which was organized by the Russian Ministry of Defense near the Ukrainian border, several RQ-4 Global Hawks circled over the South-East of this country at once, carefully observing everything that was happening. Suddenly, one of the scouts gave a signal 7600 (loss of communication) and was forced to make a U-turn, rapidly retiring in the opposite direction. On May 18, something similar happened again. Another American drone with tail number 11-2049 and callsign FORTE10 initially followed the usual route, but in the area of ​​the city of Izyum in the Kharkiv region, it abruptly changed its route to Pavlograd - Dnepr - Nikolaev, also making a 180-degree turn. Given that both RQ-4 Global Hawks are too close to the Russian border, it is believed that they could have been exposed to electronic warfare from our side. But is this so, and what does international law say about this?

If you look at the comments of readers in the domestic media, then many of them directly call for the "jamming" of American intelligence officers. I would like to remind you that this topic we have to a certain extent already concernedanalyzing the call of a retired Russian admiral to attack US Navy destroyers entering the Black Sea using electronic warfare methods. Then we came to the conclusion that this is not a good idea, since American warships enter the water area and stay in it for 21 days in strict accordance with the Montreux Convention. As long as the Donald Cook or Porter remain in international waters and do not violate our state border, an electronic warfare attack on them by the RF Ministry of Defense will be considered a type of military aggression, which, if Washington wishes, can be interpreted by it as a casus belli.

Then a natural question arises: is an electronic warfare attack on American reconnaissance UAVs located in international airspace or in the skies over Ukraine with the permission of Kiev a "Russian aggression"? The question is extremely controversial.

On the one handThe RQ-4 Global Hawk performs quite legal reconnaissance activities. In accordance with articles 13 of the Russian law "On foreign intelligence", our own intelligence officers have the right to use information systems, video and audio recording, film and photography, information retrieval from technical communication channels, as well as other methods and means. The American Global Hawk is a strategic reconnaissance aircraft crammed with appropriate spy equipment. It is equipped with an integrated surveillance and reconnaissance system HISAR (Hughes Integrated Surveillance & Reconnaissance), SAR / MTI radar, optical and infrared sensor. This equipment makes it possible to obtain radar images of the terrain with a resolution of 1 meter, as well as to detect ground-based moving objects. All received data is transmitted from the drone via a broadband satellite channel at a speed of up to 50 Mbit / s or to a ground-based receiving transmitter in the line of sight. While in international or Ukrainian airspace with the permission of the authorities of this country, American military intelligence officers do not formally violate anything.

On the other hand, we do not live in some ideal, but in the real world, where the United States is waging a new "Cold War" against our country. The RQ-4 Global Hawk, as well as American and British reconnaissance aircraft, are studying the combat capabilities of the Russian army in Crimea and on the Ukrainian border for a reason. The fight, or "duel", between American and Russian intelligence services has a very long history. If we turn again to the already mentioned law "On Foreign Intelligence" of the Russian Federation, then it says that in the process of intelligence activities, the foreign intelligence agencies of the Russian Federation can use both overt and covert methods and means:

The procedure for using secret methods and means of intelligence activity is determined by federal laws and regulatory legal acts of the foreign intelligence agencies of the Russian Federation. The content of normative legal acts on the use of covert methods and means of intelligence activity is a state secret.

In other words, we cannot judge what "secret methods and means" can be used to hinder the reconnaissance activities of a potential adversary. We also do not know if they were actually used against both RQ-4 Global Hawks, which flew too close to the Russian state border and the places of concentration of the Russian Armed Forces. One can only guess about this. However, we know for sure that technical the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation has an opportunity for this.

So, in 2020, a real "anti-drone shield" was deployed in the Kaliningrad region. According to the specialized Polish publication Defense24, the exercises of the Baltic Fleet practiced the fight against foreign attack UAVs, such as the American MQ-9 Reaper deployed in Estonia:

The Russians practiced protecting their own command post from attack by attack unmanned aerial vehicles from a potential enemy.

To do this, in the Kaliningrad region, the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation deployed a real electronic warfare dome, which gives our military many opportunities. First, Russian complexes can suppress the control channels of enemy UAVs and the transfer of intelligence from them. Secondly, even the satellite communication signal may be violated, as a result of which the control equipment of the drone will accumulate errors in determining its location. Thirdly, by combining these methods, it is possible to deceive the control system of the UAV, gradually changing its coordinates to false ones and taking it away from the route to the one needed by our military. In general, draw your own conclusions.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. George W. Bush - medium (George Bush - average) 19 May 2021 12: 18
    +1
    It's good that Russia doesn't have any complexes.
    Except missile ... tongue
  2. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 19 May 2021 12: 23
    +1
    in strict accordance with the Montreux Convention.

    Well, if you are such a legalist, let the United States or you provide evidence of an electronic warfare attack. Lost connection is an abstract concept. You can think anything you want.

    The American Global Hawk is a strategic reconnaissance aircraft crammed with appropriate spy equipment.

    And why, then, in all countries they do not like spies so much? They send me out, they try and they give me decent terms. Everything related to the security of the country everywhere and not only here is perceived very painfully. And there is no need to ask yourself the philosophical questions "to be or not to be." Spies, if possible, should be destroyed or neutralized, and believe me, there will be fewer problems and there will be no headaches! And for this, all methods are good!
  3. Tektor Offline Tektor
    Tektor (Tektor) 19 May 2021 12: 43
    +3
    Since this issue is not regulated by any agreements, then you can jam when you want. Especially when conducting exercises.
  4. General Black Offline General Black
    General Black (Gennady) 19 May 2021 14: 13
    +1
    terrestrial receiving transmitter

    In common people this thing is called - "repeater".
  5. Lime Bayun_2 Offline Lime Bayun_2
    Lime Bayun_2 (Lime Bayun) 19 May 2021 17: 39
    +3
    What's the problem then ?? Change the navigation coordinates to false ones, as written here, to enter our territory and officially knock them off .. But fig did you guys fly to us? And let them prove that something was changed for them ...
  6. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 19 May 2021 20: 49
    0
    Can you, dear colleagues?
    In aircraft modeling recently, 10 years. Always German visuals, you fly the C11 complex and rejoice.
    There are friends who muddied FPV, it is actually flying cameras.
    All these drones are the same, only more.
    Control on one channel, telemetry on another, return to the point, if the connection is lost, by GPS.
  7. Observer2014 Offline Observer2014
    Observer2014 19 May 2021 21: 17
    0
    The most interesting topic of the article! For a long time I asked myself a similar question: What is an attack in the modern world, and how to position such things if the methods of attack have gone so far ahead. Questions of a similar subject. There is a reason for international agreements. So far, it is unambiguous to the question voiced in the title of the article. It is not possible to answer. You can only count on the prudence of your opponents. Everything.
  8. Tedi Offline Tedi
    Tedi (Tedi) 30 May 2021 22: 05
    +1
    in the right to jam objects in the sphere of interests of Russia at the distance that ensures compliance with the non-receipt by the other party of information about everything that is on the territory of Russia
  9. Kedrovich Offline Kedrovich
    Kedrovich (Alexa980) 1 June 2021 22: 29
    0
    It is possible and necessary to jam. These flying machines are visible through 130 km. They can be drawn to the Don from which we and the Americans came out. This means that you cannot fly and scout even from the adjacent territory.

Вправе ли российские военные глушить американские разведывательные RQ-4 Global Hawk


За последние несколько лет американская пилотируемая и беспилотная разведывательная авиация стала постоянным и нежелательным гостем в акватории Черного моря и над степями Незалежной. Взлетают БПЛА Northrop Grumman RQ-4B-40 GlobalHawk ВВС США с авиабазы Sigonella в Италии, облетают российскую южную границу, затем вдоль Крыма направляются к линии разграничения на Донбассе, а потом возвращаются назад с разведданными. По факту, это уже превратилось в постоянное дежурство ВВС США над черноморской акваторией и Украиной. Однако в последнее время с американскими БПЛА начали происходить разные неприятности.


Так, в конце апреля 2021 года во время недавних масштабных военных учений, которые организовало Минобороны РФ неподалеку от украинской границы, над Юго-Востоком этой страны кружили сразу несколько RQ-4 Global Hawk, внимательно за всем происходящим наблюдающих. Неожиданно один из разведчиков подал сигнал 7600 (потеря связи) и был вынужден совершить разворот, стремительно удалившись в обратную сторону. 18 мая нечто подобное повторилось вновь. Другой американский беспилотник с бортовым номером 11-2049 и позывным FORTE10 изначально следовал привычным маршрутом, но в районе города Изюма в Харьковской области резко сменил маршрут на Павлоград – Днепр – Николаев, также совершив разворот на 180 градусов. Учитывая, что оба RQ-4 Global Hawk слишком сильно приблизились к российской границе, высказывается мнение, что они могли подвергнуться РЭБ-воздействию с нашей стороны. Но так ли это, и что по этому поводу говорит международное право?

Если посмотреть комментарии читателей в отечественных СМИ, то многие из них прямо призывают «глушить» американских разведчиков. Хотелось бы напомнить, что этой темы мы уже в определенной мере ранее касались, разбирая призыв отставного российского адмирала атаковать методами РЭБ эсминцы ВМС США, заходящие в Черное море. Тогда мы пришли к выводу, что это не очень хорошая идея, поскольку американские военные корабли заходят в акваторию и находятся в ней в течение 21 суток в строгом соответствии с Конвенцией Монтре. Пока «Дональд Кук» или «Портер» остаются в международных водах и не нарушают нашу государственную границу, РЭБ-атака на них со стороны Минобороны РФ будет считаться разновидностью военной агрессии, что при желании Вашингтона может быть истолковано им как «казус белли».

Тогда возникает закономерный вопрос, а является ли «российской агрессией» РЭБ-атака на американские разведывательные БПЛА, находящиеся в международном воздушном пространстве или в небе над Украиной с разрешения Киева? Вопрос крайне неоднозначный.

С одной стороны, RQ-4 Global Hawk выполняют вполне легальную разведывательную деятельность. В соответствии со статей 13 российского закона «О внешней разведке», наши же собственные разведчики вправе использовать информационные системы, видео- и аудиозапись, кино- и фотосъемку, снятие информации с технических каналов связи, а также другие методы и средства. Американский Global Hawk представляет собой стратегический разведывательный летательный аппарат, напичканный соответствующим шпионским оборудованием. Он оснащен интегрированной системой наблюдения и разведки HISAR (Hughes Integrated Surveillance & Reconnaissance), радаром SAR/MTI, оптическим и инфракрасным сенсором. Эта аппаратура позволяет получить радиолокационное изображения местности с разрешением 1 метр, а также обнаруживать наземные подвижные объекты. Все полученные данные передаются с беспилотника по широкополосному спутниковому каналу со скоростью до 50 Мбит/с либо на наземный приемный передатчик в зоне прямой видимости. Находясь в международном или в украинском воздушном пространстве с разрешения властей этой страны, американские военные разведчики формально ничего не нарушают.

С другой стороны, мы с вами живем не в некоем идеальном, а в реальном мире, где США ведут против нашей страны новую «Холодную войну». RQ-4 Global Hawk, а также американские и британские разведывательные самолеты не просто так изучают боевые возможности российской армии в Крыму и на украинской границе. Борьба, или «дуэль», американской и отечественной разведок имеет очень давнюю историю. Если мы вновь обратимся к уже упомянутому закону «О внешней разведке» РФ, то там сказано, что в процессе разведывательной деятельности органы внешней разведки Российской Федерации могут использовать как гласные, так и негласные методы и средства:

Порядок использования негласных методов и средств разведывательной деятельности определяется федеральными законами и нормативными правовыми актами органов внешней разведки Российской Федерации. Содержание нормативных правовых актов по вопросам применения негласных методов и средств разведывательной деятельности составляет государственную тайну.

Иначе говоря, мы не можем судить о том, какие «негласные методы и средства» могут быть применены для затруднения разведывательной деятельности потенциального противника. Также мы не знаем, были ли на самом деле они применены против обоих RQ-4 Global Hawk, чересчур близко подлетевших к российской государственной границе и местам скопления ВС РФ. Об этом можно только догадываться. Однако мы точно знаем, что техническая возможность для этого у Минобороны РФ имеется.

Так, в 2020 году в Калининградской области был развернут настоящий «противодронный щит». По данным специализированного польского издания Defence24, на учениях Балтийского флота отрабатывалась борьба с иностранными ударными БПЛА, такими как американские MQ-9 Reaper, дислоцированные в Эстонии:

Русские практиковали защиту собственного командного пункта от атаки ударных беспилотных летательных аппаратов потенциального противника.

Для этого в Калининградской области Минобороны РФ развернуло самый настоящий РЭБ-купол, который дает нашим военным множество возможностей. Во-первых, российские комплексы могут подавлять каналы управления БПЛА противника и передачи разведданных с них. Во-вторых, возможно нарушение даже спутникового сигнала связи, в результате чего аппаратура управления беспилотника будет накапливать ошибки при определении своего местоположения. В-третьих, сочетая эти методы, можно обмануть управляющую систему БПЛА, постепенно подменив его координаты на ложные и уведя его с маршрута на нужный нашим военным. В общем, выводы делайте сами.
9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Джордж Буш - средний (Джордж Буш - средний) 19 мая 2021 12:18
    +1
    Это хорошо, что у России нет никаких комплексов.
    Kроме ракетных... tongue
  2. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 19 мая 2021 12:23
    +1
    в строгом соответствии с Конвенцией Монтре.

    Ну, если вы такой законник, пусть сша или вы предоставят доказательства РЭБ атаки. Потеряна связь - это понятие абстрактное. Думать можно всё, что угодно.

    Американский Global Hawk представляет собой стратегический разведывательный летательный аппарат, напичканный соответствующим шпионским оборудованием.

    А почему тогда во всех странах так шпионов не любят? Высылают, судят и сроки приличные дают. Всё что касается безопасности страны везде и не только у нас, воспринимается очень болезненно. И не надо задавать себе философских вопросов "быть или не быть". Шпионов, по возможности, надо уничтожать или обезвреживать, и поверьте, проблем будет меньше и голова болеть не будет! А для этого все методы хороши!
  3. Tektor Офлайн Tektor
    Tektor (Tektor) 19 мая 2021 12:43
    +3
    Раз этот вопрос не регулируется никакими договорами, то глушить можно, когда захочется. Особенно при проведении учений.
  4. Женераль Чернота (Геннадий) 19 мая 2021 14:13
    +1
    наземный приемный передатчик

    В простонародье эта штука называется - " ретранслятор".
  5. Лайм Баюн_2 Офлайн Лайм Баюн_2
    Лайм Баюн_2 (Лайм Баюн) 19 мая 2021 17:39
    +3
    Да в чем тогда проблема?? Подменять как здесь написано навигационные координаты на ложные, заводить на нашу территорию и уже официально сшибать.. А фиг ли вы ребята к нам залетели? И пусть доказывают что им что то там подменили..
  6. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 19 мая 2021 20:49
    0
    А можно, уважаемые коллеги?
    В авиамоделизме недавно, 10 лет. Всегда немецкие визуалки, летаешь комплекс С11 и радуешься.
    Есть друзья, которые замутили FPV, это на самом деле летающие камеры.
    Все эти беспилотники - это тоже самое, только больше.
    Управление по одному каналу, телеметрия по другому, возврат на точку, ежели связь пропала, по GPS.
  7. Наблюдатель2014 19 мая 2021 21:17
    0
    Интереснейшая тема статьи! Давно себе задавал подобный вопрос.Что есть атака в современном мире.И как позиционировать подобные вещи если способы атаки так далеко ушли вперёд. Вопросы подобной тематики.Есть повод для международных договорённостей.Пока однозначно на вопрос озвученный в заголовке статьи .Ответить не возможно.Можно только рассчитывать на благоразумие оппонентов.Всё.
  8. Tedi Офлайн Tedi
    Tedi (Tedi) 30 мая 2021 22:05
    +1
    в праве глушить находящиеся предметы в сфере интересов России на том расстояние которое обеспечивает соблюдение не получение другой стороной информации обо всем что находится на территории России
  9. Kedrovich Офлайн Kedrovich
    Kedrovich (Alexa980) 1 июня 2021 22:29
    0
    Глушить можно и нужно. Эти леталки на 130 км просвечивают. Их можно притянуть к ДОН из которого мы и американцы вышли. А значит нельзя летать и разведывать даже с сопредельной территории.