What lies behind Washington's refusal of sanctions against Nord Stream 2


Recently it became known that the United States decided refuse from new sanctions against the Nord Stream 2 gas transmission project. Igor Yushkov, a leading analyst at the National Energy Security Fund, an expert at the Financial University under the Government of the Russian Federation, told the newspaper "Sight"behind the actions of Washington.


According to the specialist, the United States can no longer introduce new restrictions, as they will harm directly the European Union, local regulators and companies. He clarified that in 2019, the Americans imposed a ban on the financing and construction of the said gas pipeline. However, Russia has already overcome these difficulties and no major damage has been done to the project.

Yushkov added that "some different signals" are now coming from Washington at the same time. Some American officials say they have no desire to introduce new restrictions, while others argue that the White House intends to use all available tools to prevent the implementation of this energy project.

But in any case, they cannot be interpreted as a kind of relaxation, as a revision of the position on Nord Stream 2. Nobody is canceling the previous sanctions, although many managed to mistakenly state this.

- he considers.

The specialist recalled that Gazprom's European partners allocated money for the construction of the gas pipeline even before the appearance of American sanctions. The implementation of the project was only delayed for a year due to the replacement of pipe-laying vessels. Now the Americans only have to start harming the Europeans directly.

Yushkov noted that there is no point in hoping for the lifting of American sanctions. For example, the 1974 Jackson-Vanik Amendment directed against the USSR (for preventing Jews from leaving) was in effect for many years after the end of the Soviet Union. In our time, this document has been replaced by the "Magnitsky Act". Therefore, he does not believe that the US has surrendered.

This does not mean that at the next stages they will not oppose the flow already at the stage of operation. It is likely that the United States will act through its partners in Europe, in particular through Poland. The first task is to prevent Gazprom from obtaining permission to fully load the pipe.

- he considers.

The specialist explained that Poland and a number of other openly pro-American countries harm Nord Stream 2 by establishing anti-Russian legislative norms within the EU and organizing all kinds of litigation. In addition, the United States strongly encourages Ukraine's attempts to harm the project.

Washington encourages this behavior: criticism of Nord Stream 2, a reminder that it will hit the Ukrainian the economy, what is it political a project to kill Ukraine, deprive it of money. Ukraine allegedly directs money from transit to maintain its defense capability

He pointed out.

Yushkov stressed that Kiev plays only the role of an information mouthpiece that "exposes" the European supporters of the project. But all decisions are made by the Russian Federation, the EU and the United States, and Ukraine cannot influence this.
  • Photos used: https://www.gazprom.com/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. trampoline instructor (Bazil Bazil) 21 May 2021 18: 50
    +3
    Joe Baida and company, Merkel and other "Europeans", Gazprom and "Nord Stream" - all together and each individually for me personally are subjects equidistant and located approximately in the same place as the nebula under the tail in the constellation Canis Major.
  2. voldemar5 Offline voldemar5
    voldemar5 (Vladimir) 22 May 2021 09: 32
    +1
    People have been trading for thousands of years, and during this time the rules of trade have been formed. The United States introduces unilateral rules. So far, this does not affect US revenues. But in the long run, cautious countries will trade more cautiously with the US.

Что кроется за отказом Вашингтона от санкций против «Северного потока-2»


Недавно стало известно, что США решили отказаться от новых санкций против газотранспортного проекта «Северный поток-2». Ведущий аналитик Фонда национальной энергетической безопасности, эксперт Финансового университета при Правительстве РФ Игорь Юшков рассказал газете «Взгляд», что кроется за действиями Вашингтона.


По мнению специалиста, США уже не могут вводить новые ограничения, так как они навредят непосредственно Евросоюзу, местным регуляторам и компаниям. Он уточнил, что в 2019 году американцы наложили запрет на финансирование и строительство указанного газопровода. Однако Россия уже преодолела эти трудности и большого вреда проекту нанесено не было.

Юшков добавил, что из Вашингтона сейчас одновременно поступают «какие-то разные сигналы». Одни американские чиновники говорят об отсутствии желания вводить новые ограничения, другие утверждают, что Белый дом намерен задействовать все имеющиеся инструменты, чтобы не дать реализовать этот энергетический проект.

Но в любом случае их нельзя интерпретировать как некое послабление, как пересмотр позиции по «Северному потоку-2». Прежние санкции никто не отменяет, хотя об этом многие успели ошибочно заявить

– считает он.

Специалист напомнил, что деньги на строительство газопровода европейские партнеры «Газпрома» выделили ещё до появления американских санкций. Реализация проекта была лишь заторможена на год из-за замены судов-трубоукладчиков. Теперь американцам осталось только начать вредить непосредственно европейцам.

Юшков обратил внимание, что надеяться на отмену американских санкций нет никакого смысла. Например, поправка Джексона-Вэника 1974 года, направленная против СССР (за препятствование выезду евреев), действовала много лет после прекращения существования Советского Союза. В наше время этот документ заменили «актом Магнитского». Поэтому он не верит, что США сдались.

Это не значит, что они на следующих этапах не будут противодействовать потоку уже на стадии эксплуатации. Вполне вероятно, что США будут действовать через своих партнеров в Европе, в частности, через Польшу. Первая задача – не дать «Газпрому» получить разрешение на полную загрузку трубы

– считает он.

Специалист объяснил, что Польша и ряд других откровенно проамериканских стран вредят «Северному потоку-2» путем установления антироссийских законодательных норм в рамках ЕС и организации всевозможных судебных тяжб. Кроме того, США всячески поощряют попытки Украины навредить проекту.

В Вашингтоне поощряют такое поведение: критику «Северного потока-2», напоминание о том, что он ударит по украинской экономике, что это политический проект, чтобы убить Украину, лишить ее денег. Деньги от транзита якобы Украина направляет на поддержание своей обороноспособности

– указал он.

Юшков подчеркнул, что Киев играет лишь роль информационного рупора, который «разоблачает» европейских сторонников проекта. Но все решения принимаются РФ, ЕС и США, и Украина на это повлиять не может.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.gazprom.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Джо Байда и компания, Меркель и прочие "европейцы", Газпрём и "Северный Поток" - все вместе и каждый в отдельности лично для меня являются субъектами равноудалёнными и находящимися примерно там же, где и туманность под хвостом в созвездии Большого Пса.
  2. voldemar5 Офлайн voldemar5
    voldemar5 (Владимир) 22 мая 2021 09:32
    +1
    Люди торгуют тысячелетиями и за зто время сформировались правила в торговле. США вводят односторонние правила. Пока зто не влияет на доходы США. Но в долгосрочной перспективе, осторожные страны будут торговать с США осторожнее.