Why the Volga-Don Canal is losing out to the more expensive "Eurasia"


The Black Sea Basin, the Caucasus and the Caspian Sea are key points in the construction of any transport corridor from Asia to Europe. Bypassing Russia, of course. Currently, several international projects are actively pushing their elbows in this region. Who will prevail and take control of the transit of Chinese goods, and how should our country react to this?


Today it is customary to talk a lot about Turkey's ambitions, but not everyone remembers that the European Union was the first to try to straddle this topic. Back in 1993, an international program called TRACECA (Transport Corridor Europe-Caucasus-Asia) was created, which included Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan, and then Ukraine and Moldova, Turkey, Romania joined them. and Bulgaria, Mongolia and Iran. As you can see, everyone took part in it, except for the Russian Federation, since the main goal was to create a transport corridor bypassing our country. This route was named "Europe-Caucasus-Asia" and is funded by the EU. The position of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation was that this project is intended to "strengthen centrifugal tendencies among the CIS countries." The main obstacle to the implementation of TRACECA has become the Caucasus, a traditionally difficult region.

President Erdogan was able to cut this "Caucasian knot" by supporting Baku in 2020 in its war with the Armenians over Nagorno-Karabakh. As a result, losing Yerevan was forced to open free transit for the Turks through its territory to its allied Azerbaijan. Ankara received a land corridor to the Caspian Sea, from where the way to Central Asia opens. The "Sultan" plans to create a kind of "logistic superpower" on the basis of the former Soviet Central Asian republics. Within its framework, the "Middle Corridor" project from China to Europe can be implemented, where Turkey should become "Beijing's window to the Mediterranean". If President Erdogan's ambitions come true, this interstate economic the union of Turkic-speaking countries has a chance to grow to the "Great Turan", as Russia was once created along the trade route "from the Varangians to the Greeks."

It is obvious that such infrastructure projects, implemented bypassing Russia, objectively pose a threat to our national interests. It is necessary to answer somehow, but how? It is not our method to fight everyone in a row, we will not crush our competitors with economic sanctions, and we will not be able to convince them in words. It is necessary to present an adequate alternative to the transport corridor, which will make Russia the key assembly point.

Such could be the Eurasia shipping canal, which should connect the Caspian Sea and the Azov-Black Sea basin, about which we will discuss in detail told earlier. It can be used by merchant ships with a carrying capacity of up to 50 thousand tons, which will dramatically increase its attractiveness for Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Iran, India and China. Despite how fervently Ankara seeks friendship with the PRC, Beijing does not forget that Turkey is still the US ally in the NATO bloc, and therefore one should not stake too much on this "window to the Mediterranean". Perhaps even more important for Russia will be the fact that neighboring Kazakhstan and other Central Asian republics of the former USSR will be more closely economically connected with our country, and not with the ambitious Ankara and its active expansionist policies.

However, a very important question arises here: is it necessary to fence the new Eurasia canal from scratch, if there is already the Volga-Don canal, which already connects the Azov and the Caspian rivers along the rivers? Yes, the latter is already packed to capacity and has a lot of bandwidth restrictions, but you can expand it, right? The corresponding plans have been announced for a long time.

In fact, everything is not as simple as it seems at first glance. There is no final design documentation for Eurasia and the Volga-Don Canal yet, but some preliminary calculations have already been done. It is estimated that according to the first, the volume of earthworks will be 500 million m³, reinforced concrete work at six locks - 3 thousand m³, and the fastening of slopes with reinforced concrete slabs - from 074 thousand m³ to 4,5 thousand m². The second option will require 5,4 times less land to be excavated, and the volume of reinforced concrete work at the locks will be approximately equal. As a result, the expansion and deepening of the simpler Volga-Don canal will cost approximately 50 times less than building Eurasia from scratch, taking into account the required Volga-Chograi supply channel. Also, operating costs will be almost twice as high: 3 billion rubles a year against 4,6 billion.

It would seem that Eurasia is losing with a crushing score to a more experienced player. However, there is one, but very important ecological nuance. These shipping channels are necessary for the same Kazakhstan, first of all, for the export of oil and oil products. If a line of tankers goes along the Volga-Don Canal, sooner or later accidents with a spill of crude oil and its refined products are possible. If on Eurasia, with its system of locks, the consequences of a leak can be minimized by localizing the spilled oil slick, then for the lower reaches and deltas of the Volga and Don it will become a real ecological disaster. The current will rapidly carry hazardous substances along our inland rivers, polluting water, channels and shallows with them.

Anything can happen. Who would have thought until recently that the reliable and proven Suez would be blocked for several days by a giant dry cargo ship that lost control? Risk is a noble cause, but is it worth risking your rivers?
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 20 May 2021 17: 40
    0
    So does Kazakhstan need a canal to export oil? What have we got to do with it? The oil can be sold to Transneft, they will deliver it where needed without the risk of river pollution. If you are not satisfied, let them carry them in canisters.
    1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 20 May 2021 18: 45
      0
      if there is already a Volga-Don canal

      with winter navigation, yeah ...

      Oil can be sold to Transneft

      Hello my friend! Don't even try, this is a purely logistics company ... fellow
      1. 123 Offline 123
        123 (123) 20 May 2021 19: 42
        +1
        These are technical details. You can sell Rosneft, Transneft will deliver where you need it. I meant that do we really need to fuss for the sake of our Kazakh partners? Do you need to help your competitors with trade and, at the same time, relieve neighboring "non-brothers" from the need to purchase totalitarian oil products in the "country-arguement"?
        And these people criticize the regime laughing
        As for year-round navigation, the water in both canals is the same. hi
        1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 20 May 2021 20: 02
          0
          There is a pipeline from Kazakhstan's Tengiz to Novorossiysk.
          For non-brothers, the Russian Federation loads diesel fuel regularly ...
          They pour into tanks and fire across the LDNR ... Business, you know ...
          1. 123 Offline 123
            123 (123) 20 May 2021 21: 01
            0
            Moreover, what else do they want?
  2. kriten Offline kriten
    kriten (Vladimir) 21 May 2021 10: 25
    0
    Who is interested in the safety of rivers, when big money is at stake .... they seem to be. But there probably won't be any.

Почему Волго-Донский канал проигрывает более дорогой «Евразии»


Черноморский бассейн, Кавказ и Каспийское море являются ключевыми точками при строительстве любого транспортного коридора из Азии в Европу. В обход России, разумеется. В настоящее время в этом регионе активно толкаются локтями сразу несколько международных проектов. Кто одержит верх и возьмет под контроль транзит китайских товаров, и как на это реагировать нашей стране?


Сегодня принято много говорить об амбициях Турции, но уже не все помнят, что первым эту тему попытался оседлать Европейский союз. Еще в далеком 1993 году была создана международная программа под названием ТРАСЕКА (Transport Corridor Europe-Caucasus-Asia), куда вошли Армения, Азербайджан, Грузия, Казахстан, Туркменистан, Киргизия и Узбекистан, а после к ним присоединились Украина и Молдавия, Турция, Румыния и Болгария, Монголия и Иран. Как видно, в ней участвовали все, кроме Российской Федерации, поскольку основной целью было создание транспортного коридора в обход нашей страны. Данный маршрут получил название «Европа-Кавказ-Азия» и финансируется за счет ЕС. Позиция МИД РФ заключалась в том, что этот проект призван «усилить центробежные тенденции среди стран СНГ». Главным препятствием на пути реализации ТРАСЕКА стал Кавказ, традиционно сложный регион.

Разрубить этот «кавказский узел» смог президент Эрдоган, поддержавший в 2020 году Баку в его войне с армянами за Нагорный Карабах. В результате проигравший Ереван был вынужден открыть свободный транзит для турок через свою территорию к союзному им Азербайджану. Анкара получила сухопутный коридор на Каспий, откуда открывается путь в Центральную Азию. В планах «султана» создание некой «логистической супердержавы» на базе бывших советских среднеазиатских республик. В ее рамках может быть реализован проект «Среднего коридора» из Китая в Европу, где Турция должна стать «окном Пекина в Средиземноморье». Если амбиции президента Эрдогана осуществятся, этот межгосударственный экономический союз тюркоязычных стран имеет шанс вырасти до «Великого Турана», как когда-то была создана Русь вдоль торгового пути «из варяг в греки».

Очевидно, что подобные инфраструктурные проекты, реализуемые в обход России, объективно представляют угрозу нашим национальным интересам. Необходимо как-то отвечать, но как? Воевать со всеми подряд не наш метод, экономическими санкциями мы конкурентов не задавим, а усовестить на словах не получится. Нужно представить адекватную альтернативу транспортному коридору, которая сделает именно Россию ключевой точкой сборки.

Таковым мог бы стать судоходный канал «Евразия», должный соединить Каспийское море и Азовско-Черноморский бассейн, о чем мы подробно рассказывали ранее. По нему смогут ходить торговые суда грузоподъемностью до 50 тысяч тонн, что резко повысит его привлекательность для Казахстана, Туркменистана, Ирана, Индии и Китая. Несмотря на то, как горячо Анкара ищет дружбы с КНР, в Пекине не забывают, что Турция по-прежнему является союзницей США по блоку НАТО, и потому на это «окно в Средиземноморье» нельзя делать слишком большую ставку. Пожалуй, еще важнее для России будет то, что соседний Казахстан и другие среднеазиатские республики бывшего СССР будут теснее экономически связаны именно с нашей страной, а не с амбициозной Анкарой и ее активной экспансионистской политикой.

Однако тут возникает очень важный вопрос: а нужно ли городить с нуля новый канал «Евразия», если уже имеется Волго-Донский канал, и так соединяющий по рекам Азов и Каспий? Да, последний уже забит под завязку и имеет массу ограничений по пропускной способности, но ведь его можно и расширить, верно? Соответствующие планы озвучены уже давно.

На самом деле, все не так просто, как представляется на первый взгляд. Пока нет окончательной проектной документации по «Евразии» и Волго-Донскому каналу, но кое-какие предварительные расчеты уже проделаны. Подсчитано, что по первому объем земляных работ составит 500 млн м³, железобетонных работ на шести шлюзах - 3 074 тыс. м³, а крепление откосов железобетонными плитами – от 4,5 тыс. м³ до 5,4 тыс. м². Второй вариант потребует выкопать земли в 50 раз меньше, а объем железобетонных работ на шлюзах примерно сравняется. В результате расширение и углубление более простого Волго-Донского канала обойдется ориентировочно в 3 раза дешевле, чем строительство с нуля «Евразии» с учетом необходимого для него питающего канала «Волга – Чограй». Также почти в два раза выше будут эксплуатационные расходы: 4,6 миллиарда рублей в год против 2 миллиардов.

Казалось бы, «Евразия» проигрывает с разгромным счетом более опытному игроку. Однако есть один, но очень важный экологический нюанс. Эти судоходные каналы необходимы тому же Казахстану в первую очередь для экспорта нефти и нефтепродуктов. Если по Волго-Донскому каналу пойдет вереница танкеров, раньше или позже возможны аварии с разливом сырой нефти и продуктов ее переработки. Если на «Евразии» с ее системой шлюзов последствия утечки можно минимизировать, локализовав разлившееся нефтяное пятно, то для низовьев и дельты Волги и Дона это станет настоящей экологической катастрофой. Течение стремительно разнесет опасные вещества по нашим внутренним рекам, загрязнив ими воду, протоки и отмели.

Случиться может всякое. Кто бы мог еще недавно подумать, что надежный и проверенный Суэц на несколько дней будет перекрыт потерявшим управление гигантским сухогрузом? Риск – дело благородное, но стоит ли рисковать своими реками?
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 20 мая 2021 17:40
    0
    Так канал нужен Казахстану для экспорта нефти? Мы то тут при чем? Нефть можно продать Транснефти, они доставят куда надо без риска загрязнения рек. Если не устраивает, пусть канистрами таскают.
    1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 20 мая 2021 18:45
      0
      если уже имеется Волго-ДонскИй канал

      с зимней навигацией, ага...

      Нефть можно продать Транснефти

      Привет дружище! Даже не пытайся, это чисто логистическая компания... fellow
      1. 123 Офлайн 123
        123 (123) 20 мая 2021 19:42
        +1
        Это технические подробности. Можно продать Роснефти, Транснефть доставит куда надо. Я имел ввиду, что разве нам надо суетится ради казахских партнеров? Надо помочь конкурентам с торговлей и заодно избавить соседних "небратьев" от необходимости закупать тотолитарные нефтепродукты в "стране-аргессоре"?
        И эти люди критикуют режим laughing
        Что касается круглогодичной навигации, вода в обеих каналах одинаковая. hi
        1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 20 мая 2021 20:02
          0
          C казахстанского Тенгиза есть труба в Новороссийск.
          Небратьям РФ грузит солярку исправно...
          Они в танки льют и по ЛДНР палят... Бизьнес, понимашь...
          1. 123 Офлайн 123
            123 (123) 20 мая 2021 21:01
            0
            Тем более, чего им еще надо?
  2. kriten Офлайн kriten
    kriten (Владимир) 21 мая 2021 10:25
    0
    Кого интересуют сохранность рек, когда на кону большие бабки....мерещатся. Но вероятно не будет никаких.