Tesla plant in Russia is not needed neither by us, nor by Americans


On May 21, 2021, a multi-billionaire entrepreneur from the United States, Elon Musk, during the New Knowledge marathon announced via video link that Tesla products would soon appear on the Russian market. He also mentioned that he is potentially considering the possibility of building a car plant of this company in Russia in the future.


I think we will soon be present in Russia. I think it will be amazing. We also need to look more broadly at Kazakhstan and other CIS countries. This is important for us

- he said.

Immediately after that, the authorities of several regions of the Russian Federation announced their readiness to host Tesla production. The leaders of the Moscow, Kaliningrad and Kaluga regions, as well as the Republic of Udmurtia, expressed their readiness to provide industrial sites and create favorable conditions for doing business. Perhaps, after Musk's words become practical, there will be more people willing.


However, it is questionable for a number of reasons whether such an enterprise should appear in Russia. Americans are unlikely to want to share any technological secrets, and according to the current Russian legislation, the localization of production must be at least 50%.

Tesla is building a plant in Germany and its capacity should cover the needs of Europe and the Eurasian space. By the end of 2021, the Tesla plant in China should reach the production of 550 thousand vehicles per year. Therefore, the question of the profitability of the plant in Russia is now pointless to consider.

In addition, the electric vehicle industry has just begun to emerge in Russia, and Musk's company already has gigantic advantages. She has experience Development of, well-established production facilities and manufacturing chains for various components, in particular batteries. Tesla will simply crush Russian competitors by lowering the prices of its electric cars.

From this we can conclude that the Tesla car plant in Russia, by and large, is not needed by either Russians or Americans. At the same time, if Musk wants to build an enterprise for the production of components in the Russian Federation, then this can only be welcomed, since such products will be easily sent to the company's giant factories in Germany and China.
  • Photos used: Daniel Oberhaus / flickr.com
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 22 May 2021 12: 29
    -2
    Anonymous:

    By and large, the Tesla car plant in Russia is not needed by either Russians or Americans.

    Executives:

    ... Moscow, Kaliningrad and Kaluga regions, as well as the Republic of Udmurtia expressed their readiness to provide industrial sites and create favorable conditions for doing business.

    Who will be cooler?
  2. Artyom76 Online Artyom76
    Artyom76 (Artyom Volkov) 24 May 2021 10: 42
    0
    Let's start with the fact that electric cars in Russia are the highest degree of insanity. It is necessary to develop and manufacture electric vehicles in the Russian Federation, working in this regard for the future, in the sense of not lagging behind in this direction, and in the prospect of obtaining energy sources that do not depend on weather conditions and are more energy-intensive, well, the "toy" will be rich. But talking about mass character in our realities is nonsense.

Завод Tesla в России не нужен ни нам, ни американцам


21 мая 2021 года предприниматель-мультимиллиардер из США Илон Маск в ходе марафона «Новое знание» заявил по видеосвязи о скором появлении на российском рынке продукции Tesla. Также он обмолвился, что потенциально рассматривает возможность строительства автозавода указанной компании в России в будущем.


Думаю, мы скоро будем присутствовать в России. Я думаю, это будет потрясающе. Нам также нужно смотреть более широко на Казахстан и другие страны СНГ. Это важно для нас

– сказал он.

Сразу после этого о готовности разместить у себя производство Tesla сообщили власти сразу нескольких регионов РФ. Руководители Московской, Калининградской и Калужской областей, а также республики Удмуртия выразили готовность предоставить промышленные площадки и создать благоприятные условия для ведения бизнеса. Возможно, после того как слова Маска перейдут в практическую плоскость, желающих станет больше.


Однако вызывает сомнение по целому ряду причин целесообразность появления подобного предприятия в России. Американцы вряд ли захотят делиться какими-то технологическими секретами, а по действующему российскому законодательству локализация производства должна составлять не менее 50%.

Tesla строит завод в Германии и его мощности должны покрыть потребности Европы и евразийского пространства. К концу 2021 года завод Tesla в Китае должен выйти на изготовление 550 тыс. автомобилей в год. Поэтому вопрос рентабельности завода в России сейчас бессмысленно рассматривать.

Кроме того, в России только-только начала зарождаться индустрия электромобилей, а компания Маска уже обладает гигантскими преимуществами. У неё есть опыт, разработки, отлаженные производственные мощности и цепочки изготовления различных комплектующих, в частности аккумуляторов. Tesla попросту раздавит российских конкурентов, снизив цены на свои электрокары.

Из этого можно сделать вывод, что автозавод Tesla в России по большому счету не нужен ни россиянам, ни американцам. При этом если Маск захочет построить в РФ предприятие по производству комплектующих, то это можно будет только приветствовать, так как такую продукцию будет легко направлять на гигантские заводы компании в Германии и Китае.
  • Использованы фотографии: Daniel Oberhaus/flickr.com
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 22 мая 2021 12:29
    -2
    Аноним:

    автозавод Tesla в России по большому счету не нужен ни россиянам, ни американцам.

    Руководители:

    ... Московской, Калининградской и Калужской областей, а также республики Удмуртия выразили готовность предоставить промышленные площадки и создать благоприятные условия для ведения бизнеса.

    Кто будет круче?
  2. Артём76 Офлайн Артём76
    Артём76 (Артем Волков) 24 мая 2021 10:42
    0
    Начнем с того, что электромобили в России - маразм наивысшей ступени. Заниматься разработкой и производством электромобилей в РФ нужно, работая в этом плане на перспективу, в том смысле, чтобы не отставать в этом направлении, и в перспективе получения источников энергии, независящих от погодных условий и более энергоемких, ну и богатым "игрушка" будет. Но говорить про массовость в наших реалиях - это бред.