The third world cyber war: Germany drew attention to the capabilities of Russia and China


Recently, the American agency Bloomberg called Russia is a "safe haven for cyber pirates." Now a politician from Germany, European Commissioner for Digital the economy and society Gunther Oettinger decided to speculate on the pages of the German newspaper Handelsblatt whether World War III will become cyberwar.


Over the past decade, the West has experienced a large number of cyberattacks from Russia and China, but does little to defend itself. It is necessary to pay attention to the capabilities of Moscow and Beijing in the field of cyber activity and develop countermeasures, the author writes.

For example, on May 8, 2015, when events were held to mark the end of World War II, a hacker from the Russian Federation entered the computer of German Chancellor Angela Merkel in the Bundestag. It took German law enforcement officers five years to establish the truth, exposing Dmitry Badin.

On May 7, 2021, again ahead of the end of World War II events, a group of Dark Side hackers paralyzed the Colonial Pipeline on the east coast of the United States. The emergency mode was announced in 17 American states - the fuel shortage affected 50 million people.

Without exaggeration, the cyber attack on the American company Solarwinds, which provides an IT service, can be called historical. Most interestingly, the attack was reported by a private security firm in December 2020, at the time of the vote count in the US presidential elections, and not by "competent" government agencies in charge of cyber defense. This action is considered the largest act of espionage in history, as hackers infiltrated many departments and agencies of the United States, including structures that manage strategic capabilities (nuclear weapons). 18 thousand companies were also affected.

Will these attacks force the United States and NATO to join forces and announce special defensive measures, as they did after the 2001 New York terrorist attack? Apparently not, since there is no convincing evidence that special services from the Russian Federation or China were involved in the attack on Solarwinds. On the Internet, not only secret armies of various countries operate, but also ordinary criminals.

One thing can be said for sure - the Third World War will not be conducted "on land, in the sea and in the air", but in virtual space. Among the planet's cyber powers, the United States, China, Russia and Israel are in the top league. Moreover, the Russian Federation is considered not just one of the leading - it is still far ahead of everyone else in the ruthlessness of its methods. Iran is in the second league. Some time ago, the IRGC hackers managed to harm the work of several American banks.

At the same time, the German government, where the special services are more modest than those of the above countries, calls on German enterprises to strengthen cyber defense. At the same time, Berlin wants to conclude an agreement with Beijing to renounce espionage activities.

In the European Union as a whole, things are much worse. The cybersecurity program for the period 2021-2027 provides for only 1,5 billion euros, i.e. 230 million euros per year for all 27 participating countries, or less than 10 million euros for each state of the union. To this must be added the presence of a Competence Center and 57 of its employees to support EU members. With this in mind, the soldiers of the cyber armies of Moscow and Beijing must either tremble with fear or be unable to stand still with laughter, concluded Ettinger, who is personally responsible for drawing up the EU budget for 2021-2027.
  • Photos used: https://pxhere.com/
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Potapov Offline Potapov
    Potapov (Valery) 23 May 2021 08: 36
    0
    Lack of life / network, environment ... / generally accepted norms - a guarantee of taking action to harm anyone ...
    The most progressive capitalist system created progressive plastic - and after 100 years realized that in vain ... Suck your filth without us ... There are no norms in the networks - what attacks, it is Petrov and Bashirov who are frozen ... However, no norms will stop American colleagues. ..
    There was the Helsinki Act about the significance of which in consolidating the results of WWII, the old communists ate our bald head ... Where are the borders in Europe, right in Novgorod ... Hence the conclusion - to act in favor of the country always, without looking back at the morality of homosexuals ... Russians in Ukraine and the Baltic states have no one else to protect from local fascists ... They are outlawed for all progressive mankind ...

Третья мировая кибервойна: в Германии обратили внимание на возможности России и Китая


Недавно американское агентство Bloomberg назвало Россию «тихой гаванью для киберпиратов». Теперь политик из Германии, еврокомиссар по цифровой экономике и обществу Гюнтер Эттингер решил порассуждать на страницах немецкой газеты Handelsblatt, станет ли кибервойной Третья мировая.


За последнее десятилетие Запад пережил большое количество кибератак со стороны России и Китая, но мало делает для своей защиты. Нужно обратить внимание на возможности Москвы и Пекина в области кибердеятельности и разработать меры противодействия, пишет автор.

Например, 8 мая 2015 года, когда проходили мероприятия по случаю окончания Второй Мировой, хакер из РФ проник в компьютер канцлера ФРГ Ангелы Меркель в бундестаге. Пять лет потребовалось немецким правоохранителям, чтобы установить истину, разоблачив Дмитрия Бадина.

7 мая 2021 года, снова перед мероприятиями по случаю окончания Второй Мировой, группировка хакеров Dark Side парализовала работу нефтепровода Colonial Pipeline на восточном побережье США. Режим ЧС был объявлен в 17 американских штатах – дефицит топлива затронул 50 млн человек.

Без преувеличения исторической можно назвать кибератаку на американскую компанию Solarwinds, предоставляющую IT-услугу. Самое интересное, об атаке сообщила частная охранная фирма в декабре 2020 года, в момент подсчета голосов на выборах президента США, а не «компетентные» госорганы, отвечающие за киберзащиту. Эта акция считается крупнейшим актом шпионажа в истории, так как хакеры проникли во множество ведомств и учреждений США, в том числе в структуры, управляющие стратегическим потенциалом (ядерным оружием). Пострадали также 18 тыс. компаний.

Заставят ли эти атаки объединить усилия и объявить о принятии специальных оборонительных мер со стороны США и НАТО, как это было после теракта в Нью-Йорке в 2001 году? Видимо, нет, так как отсутствуют убедительные доказательства того, что к атаке на Solarwinds были причастны спецслужбы из РФ или КНР. В интернете не только действуют тайные армии различных стран, но и обычные криминальные элементы.

Наверняка можно сказать одно – Третья Мировая будет вестись не «на суше, в море и в воздухе», а в виртуальном пространстве. Среди кибердержав планеты в высшей лиге находятся США, Китай, Россия и Израиль. Причем РФ считается не просто одной из ведущих – она ещё намного опережает всех остальных по безжалостности своих методов. Во второй лиге находится Иран. Некоторое время назад хакерам КСИР удалось навредить работе нескольких американских банков.

При этом правительство Германии, где спецслужбы скромнее, чем у вышеуказанных стран, призывает немецкие предприятия усилить киберзащиту. Одновременно Берлин хочет заключить с Пекином договор об отказе от шпионской деятельности.

В Евросоюзе в целом все обстоит гораздо хуже. Программа кибербезопасности на период 2021-2027 годы предусматривает всего 1,5 млрд евро, т.е. 230 млн евро в год на все 27 стран-участниц или менее 10 млн евро на каждое государство объединения. К этому нужно приплюсовать наличие Центра компетенций и 57 его сотрудников для поддержки членов ЕС. Учитывая это, воины киберармий Москвы и Пекина должны либо дрожать от страха, либо быть не в состоянии устоять на месте от смеха, подытожил Эттингер, который лично отвечает за составление бюджета ЕС на 2021-2027 годы.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pxhere.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Потапов Офлайн Потапов
    Потапов (Valery) 23 мая 2021 08:36
    0
    Отсутствие в области жизни/сети, окружающая среда.../ общепринятых норм - гарантия ведения действий по нанесению ущерба кому попало...
    Самый прогрессивный капиталистический строй создал прогрессивный пластик - и через 100 лет сообразил что зря...Без нас сосите свою гадость...Нет норм в сетях - какие атаки , это Петров и Баширов отморозились...Впрочем никакие нормы не остановят американских коллег ...
    Был Хельсинский акт о значении которого в закреплении итогов ВМВ нам всю плешь старенькие коммунисты проели...Где границы в Европе, правильно у Новгорода...Отсюда вывод - действовать в пользу страны всегда, без оглядок на мораль педерастов...Русских в Украине и Прибалтике от местных фашистов защищать больше некому...Они для всего прогрессивного человечества вне закона...