American TV channel: "Russia is gaining a foothold in the Arctic"


The fact of the landing of a heavy four-engine military transport aircraft Il-76 on the Franz Josef Land archipelago in the middle of the Arctic Ocean proves the growing military power of Russia in this region, according to the American television channel CNN.


On the Aleksandra Land island of the aforementioned archipelago, there are the Nagurskaya base of the Russian FSB border service, the Arctic Trefoil base of the RF Ministry of Defense and the northernmost airfield in Russia. Recently, the Russians have expanded the runway of the airfield, increasing it to 3500 m. Now it can accommodate large aircraft and refuel aviation. The Chief of Staff of the Air Force and Air Defense of the Northern Fleet of the Russian Federation, Major General Igor Churkin, told the media that any type of aircraft, including Tu-95 strategic bombers, can now land and base at the indicated airfield.

The Russians feel so confident that they have allowed the media, including CNN, to visit the site. It houses the latest NATO aircraft detection radar and coastal SCRC capable of hitting surface ships at a distance of more than 300 km. Probably, the Russians decided to show their strength before the next meeting of the Arctic Council (AC), which took place on May 19, 2021 in Reykjavik (Iceland). The AU consists of eight sub-Arctic countries: Denmark, Iceland, Canada, Norway, Russia, USA, Finland and Sweden. But the base shown by the Russians is just one of many others that they have created or modernized recently.

Recently, Russian President Vladimir Putin announced that Moscow will continue to consolidate its position in the Arctic to ensure the future of Russia. However, the Kremlin's efforts are causing great concern in the White House. Therefore, a serious confrontation may unfold in the Arctic. Before the AU meeting, the head of the US State Department, Anthony Blinken, said that Washington is worried about the increased military activity in the region.

At the same time, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov pointed out that Russia and the United States differ significantly in their approaches, but Moscow is ready to discuss issues "with facts on the table." He stressed that “everyone knows that this is our land” and everything done by the Russian Federation is “absolutely legal and legitimate”.

After that, on May 20, Putin He pledged "Knocking out the teeth of everyone who covets," making it clear that any claims against Russia will inevitably lead to consequences. Over the past decade and a half, Moscow has made tremendous efforts to expand its territorial claims in the region.

In 2007, the Russians even planted the Russian flag at the bottom of the Arctic Ocean at the North Pole, which drew criticism in the West. Since then, the Russian Federation has been building icebreakers, military facilities and building up forces and assets in the Far North. In March 2021, Russia sent two new appeals to the UN in order to achieve the expansion of the boundaries of its continental shelf.

The main reason for the tension between the countries is global warming. The Arctic is gradually being freed from ice and Moscow quickly realized that this region has great prospects. Now Russia is building up its military power, dominates the Northern Sea Route and develops minerals. 53% of the entire coastline of the Arctic Ocean passes through the Russian Federation, summed up the media from the United States.
  • Used photos: http://mil.ru/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 24 May 2021 19: 31
    +1
    In 2007, the Russians even planted the Russian flag at the bottom of the Arctic Ocean at the North Pole.

    The navel of the Earth is not a man, it is cold, it is snow,
    this depth is great, but all this is not faceless.
    There bears and walruses live forever,
    and now at a depth of (4300m) there will be a flag of Russia
    a symbol of humanity is the flag of our Fatherland.

Американский телеканал: «Россия закрепляется в Арктике»


Факт посадки тяжелого четырехдвигательного военно-транспортного самолета Ил-76 на архипелаге Земля Франца-Иосифа посреди Северного Ледовитого океана доказывает растущую военную мощь России в этом регионе, сообщает американский телеканал CNN.


На острове Земля Александры упомянутого архипелага находятся база погранслужбы ФСБ России «Нагурская», база Минобороны РФ «Арктический трилистник» и самый северный аэродром России. Недавно россияне расширили ВПП аэродрома, нарастив её до 3500 м. Теперь на нем можно принимать большие самолеты и осуществлять дозаправку авиации. Начальник штаба армии ВВС и ПВО Северного флота РФ генерал-майор Игорь Чуркин сообщил СМИ, что на указанном аэродроме теперь могут приземляться и базироваться любые типы самолетов, включая стратегические бомбардировщики Ту-95.

Россияне настолько чувствуют себя уверенно, что разрешили СМИ, включая CNN, посетить этот объект. Там находятся новейшие РЛС для обнаружения самолетов НАТО и береговые ПКРК, способные поражать надводные корабли на расстоянии, превышающем 300 км. Вероятно, россияне решили показать свою силу перед очередным заседанием Арктического совета (АС), которое прошло 19 мая 2021 года в Рейкьявике (Исландия). В состав АС входят восемь приарктических стран: Дания, Исландия, Канада, Норвегия, Россия, США, Финляндия и Швеция. Но показанная россиянами база является лишь одной из многих других, созданных или модернизированных ими за последнее время.

Недавно президент РФ Владимир Путин завил, что Москва продолжит закреплять свое положение в Арктике для обеспечения будущего России. Однако усилия Кремля вызывают большую обеспокоенность в Белом доме. Поэтому в Арктике может развернуться серьезное противостояние. Перед заседанием АС глава Госдепа США Энтони Блинкен сказал, что Вашингтон тревожится по поводу возросшей военной активности в регионе.

При этом руководитель МИД РФ Сергей Лавров указал, что Россия и США существенно расходятся в подходах, но Москва готова обсуждать вопросы «с фактами на столе». Он подчеркнул, что «всем известно – это наша земля» и все сделанное РФ, «абсолютно законно и легитимно».

После этого, 20 мая, Путин пообещал «выбить зубы всем, кто позарится», дав понять, что за любыми претензиями к России неизбежно наступят последствия. За последние полтора десятилетия Москва приложила огромные усилия для расширения своих территориальных притязаний в регионе.

В 2007 году россияне даже установили флаг России на дне Северного Ледовитого океана на Северном полюсе, что вызвало критику на Западе. С тех пор РФ строит ледоколы, военные объекты и наращивает силы и средства на Крайнем Севере. В марте 2021 года Россия направила в ООН два новых обращения с целью добиться расширения границ своего континентального шельфа.

Главная причина возникшей напряженности между странами – глобальное потепление. Арктика постепенно освобождается ото льдов и Москва быстро поняла, что этот регион имеет огромные перспективы. Сейчас Россия наращивает военную мощь, доминирует на Севморпути и разрабатывает полезные ископаемые. 53% всей береговой линии Северного Ледовитого океана проходится на РФ, подытожило СМИ из США.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 24 мая 2021 19:31
    +1
    В 2007 году россияне даже установили флаг России на дне Северного Ледовитого океана на Северном полюсе,

    Пуп Земли - не человек, это холод, это снег,
    это глубина великая, но всё это не безликое.
    Там медведи и моржи проживают вечно,
    а теперь на глубине (4300м) будет флаг России
    символ человечества - флаг нашего Отечества.