Shallowing of the Don leads to an ecological disaster in the South of Russia


A while ago we told about the problems of the Ukrainian Dnieper, the water of which has essentially become toxic and dangerous for consumption without complex purification. Alas, this misfortune has not bypassed our Don, and the entire South of Russia, as well as Independent, is systematically moving towards a real ecological catastrophe. How did this happen, and can anything else be done to prevent the worst-case scenario?


First, here are some depressing facts. The salinity level of the shallow and almost enclosed Sea of ​​Azov, into which the Don flows, is practically equal to that of the Black Sea. To date, this figure is 15 ppm. The fish stocks of its water area have radically decreased: if 90 years ago the total catches were estimated at 400 thousand tons, now this is a very modest 11 thousand. Valuable species of fish and other marine life characteristic of the Azov water area are rapidly disappearing. Measurements show that the salinity level is increasing by 1 ppm per year. This is a lot, and the situation has only deteriorated from year to year for the last 15 years. What or who is to blame for the rapid change?

Of course, first of all, the eyes turn to the Don, the waters of which flow into the Sea of ​​Azov and naturally increase its freshness. And here the numbers are simply frightening: if earlier its annual runoff was 22,3 cubic kilometers of water, then in 2020 it dropped to 9,5. Also, the water level in the Mius, Seversky Donets and Kalitva rivers dropped by more than two times. At the mouth of the Don, salinity is now not much different from the water in the Kerch Strait. The banks along the lower reaches of the great river turn into swampy salt marshes. It smells bad, according to residents of Rostov-on-Don, tap water in the taps, and after washing, a thin coating of salts trapped in the river water remains on the dishes. And who is to blame for the impending environmental disaster? The Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources of the Rostov Region, Mikhail Fishkin, believes that global warming is to blame:

The state of nature is cyclical, so you need to be prepared for a possible drought and a possible increase in water masses.

Indeed, the factor of negative influence from global warming is difficult to deny, natural processes are indeed cyclical, and 12-14 thousand years ago the Sea of ​​Azov disappeared altogether. But, alas, these are not all the reasons for the problems of the Don and the Azov basin. Perhaps the greatest contribution to date has been made by anthropogenic activities.

At first, the construction of the Tsimlyansk reservoir and hydroelectric facilities had a very significant impact on the hydrological regime of the Don. During the construction and laying of roads, numerous flow communications were destroyed for the flow of water into the river - gullies and ravines. The natural self-regulation system has been hit hard. Because of this, the flood has decreased many times over, which naturally washed the Don bed every spring and provided the floodplain soil with moisture and nutrients. As a result of the creation of artificial reservoirs, reservoirs and ponds, the total evaporating surface has increased, which has a negative effect in the dry season. Rivers become shallow, their tributaries are gradually silted up and overgrown, and harmful substances accumulate in their bottom sediments. Accordingly, natural spawning grounds for fish are reduced, and their numbers are decreasing.

Secondly, a heavy blow to the Don was dealt by intensive agriculture, which requires huge volumes of water for irrigation. Against the background of the drought of recent years, farmers have to select increased volumes of it. At the same time, it is necessary to take into account the factor of soil erosion, which affects almost all agricultural lands of the Rostov region. The upper layers of soil with water and wind fall into the Don and aggravate the problem of siltation, which is most acute for small rivers. Well, of course, generously applied fertilizers and other chemicals contribute to environmental degradation.

Thirdly, numerous violations in water protection zones lead to pollution and siltation of the Don basin, such as the construction of cottages on the coastal protection belts, discharge of sewage into rivers, etc.

In addition to the environmental damage to the South of Russia, this region also faces significant economic damage. Here is how the head of the Federal Agency for Fishery Vasily Sokolov commented on this situation:

We see how the stocks of most valuable fish species are declining, habitual conditions are disrupted. Sivash and Taganrog Bay are saline, the same can be said about the central part of the sea - everywhere there are already peak values. If earlier the Sea of ​​Azov was considered one of the most productive reservoirs in the world, now it is degrading.

In general, it is obvious that things are bad. But is it still possible to save the great Russian river? Representatives of the expert community strongly recommend that a number of priority measures be taken.

It is necessary to make an inventory and draw up ecological passports for all small rivers, ponds and other hydraulic structures, many of which are simply abandoned. After that, it is necessary to eliminate those of them that no longer have economic significance, as well as to clear the river beds. To urgently start the restoration of water protection zones and coastal protection zones, green zones along the Don basin. It is also proposed to build a special spawning canal bypassing the Kochetovsky hydroelectric complex. Only after completing a set of such measures can one hope for a gradual improvement in the environmental situation. And we must be aware that this will not happen very quickly. But it was necessary to start the day before yesterday.
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 23 June 2021 17: 13
    +1
    I would be glad to hear the opinion of colleagues from the Rostov region ...
  2. Shelest2000 Offline Shelest2000
    Shelest2000 23 June 2021 18: 56
    +2
    Shut off the Dnieper and direct its water to the Don. Reply to 404 country with the same and help your country.
  3. Bitter Online Bitter
    Bitter (Gleb) 23 June 2021 21: 55
    +2
    Extremely efficient use of resources by the new capitalists. It's only the beginning.
    But the main thing is that the margin is thicker. And the local nature, yes figs with it, from the "house" standing on the Spanish or Italian banks of the Don is not visible. Here, enthusiasts have already suggested extending the pipe from Siberia almost to the Crimea. The tree stump is clear, Siberia is not visible from the Crimea either.
  4. igor.igorev Offline igor.igorev
    igor.igorev (Igor) 24 June 2021 12: 56
    0
    It’s strange. And the liberda screams that our factories are all destroyed and there is no agriculture, all the fields are unplowed. And here the author writes that they consume a lot of water.
    Is this how our factories work or not? Are the lands plowed up?
  5. Kobra45 Offline Kobra45
    Kobra45 (Alisa Selezneva) 3 July 2021 11: 27
    +1
    That would send the water of the Russian rivers that replenish the Ukrainian Dnieper today to the Russian Don and Volga, there would be more sense, but the ducklings will still not appreciate the breadth of Putin's gesture on the free water supply of Ukraine, not in the horse feed

Обмеление Дона ведет к экологической катастрофе на Юге России


Некоторое время назад мы рассказывали о проблемах украинского Днепра, вода которого по сути стала токсичной и опасной для употребления без комплексной очистки. Увы, но эта беда не обошла и наш Дон, а весь Юг России, как и Незалежной, планомерно идет к настоящей экологической катастрофе. Как же так получилось, и можно ли что-то еще сделать, чтобы предотвратить наихудший сценарий?


Сперва приведем некоторые удручающие факты. Уровень солености мелководного и почти замкнутого Азовского моря, куда впадает Дон, практически сравнялся с показателями Черного моря. К настоящему моменту эта цифра составляет 15 промилле. Радикально уменьшились рыбные запасы его акватории: если 90 лет назад совокупные уловы оценивались в 400 тысяч тонн, то теперь эта очень скромные 11 тысяч. Быстро исчезают ценные породы рыбы и прочих морских обитателей, характерных для акватории Азова. Замеры показывают, что уровень солености растет по 1 промилле в год. Это очень много, и обстановка только ухудшается год от года последние 15 лет. Что или кто виноват в стремительных переменах?

Разумеется, в первую очередь взоры обращаются на Дон, воды которого впадают в Азовское море и естественным образом повышают его пресность. И тут цифры просто пугающие: если раньше его годовой водосток составлял 22,3 кубокилометров воды, то в 2020 году он упал до 9,5. Также в два с лишним раза упал уровень воды в реках Миус, Северский Донец и Калитва. В устье Дона соленость теперь мало чем отличается от воды в Керченском проливе. Берега по низовьям великой реки превращаются в заболоченные солончаки. Дурно пахнет, по словам жителей Ростова-на-Дону, водопроводная вода в кранах, а после мытья на посуде остается тонкий налет из солей, оказавшихся в речной воде. И кто же виноват в надвигающемся экологическом бедствии? Министр экологии и природных ресурсов Ростовской области Михаил Фишкин считает, что виной всему глобальное потепление:

Состояние природы циклично, поэтому надо быть готовыми и к возможной засухе, и к возможному нарастанию водяных масс.

И правда, фактор негативного влияния со стороны глобального потепления трудно отрицать, природные процессы действительно цикличны, а 12-14 тысяч лет назад Азовское море и вовсе исчезало. Но, увы, это далеко не все причины проблем Дона и Азовского бассейна. Пожалуй, наибольший вклад к настоящему моменту внесла антропогенная деятельность.

Во-первых, очень существенное влияние на гидрологический режим Дона оказало строительство Цимлянского водохранилища и гидроузлов. При строительстве и прокладке дорог уничтожались многочисленные проточные коммуникации для поступления воды в реку – балки и овраги. Системе природной саморегуляции был нанесен тяжелый удар. Из-за этого многократно сократилось половодье, которое естественным путем каждую весну промывало русло Дона и обеспечивало влагой и питательными веществами пойменную почву. В результате создания искусственных водоемов, водохранилищ и прудов увеличилась общая испаряющая поверхность, что негативно сказывается в засушливый период. Реки мелеют, их притоки постепенно заиливаются и зарастают, а в их донных отложениях накапливаются вредные вещества. Соответственно сокращаются природные нерестилища для рыбы, ее численность уменьшается.

Во-вторых, тяжелый удар по Дону нанесло интенсивное сельское хозяйство, которое требует огромных объемов воды на орошение. На фоне засухи последних лет аграриям приходится отбирать ее повышенные объемы. При этом необходимо учитывать фактор эрозии почвы, которой подвержены почти все сельскохозяйственные угодья Ростовской области. Верхние слои почвы с водой и ветром попадают в Дон и усугубляют проблему заиливания, которая наиболее остро стоит перед малыми реками. Ну, и, конечно, свой вклад в экологическую деградацию вносят щедро применяемые удобрения и прочие химикаты.

В-третьих, к загрязнению и заиливанию бассейна Дона приводят многочисленные нарушения в водоохранных зонах, вроде строительства коттеджей на берегозащитных полосах, сброс в реки сточных вод и т.д.

Помимо экологического вреда, причиняемого Югу России, этот регион сталкивается и со значительным экономическим ущербом. Вот как прокомментировал эту ситуацию глава Росрыболовства Василий Соколов:

Мы видим как снижаются запасы большинства ценных видов рыб, нарушаются привычные условия. Сиваш и Таганрогский залив осолонены, то же самое можно сказать и о центральной части моря – везде уже пиковые значения. Если раньше Азовское море считалось одним из наиболее продуктивных водоемов в мире, то теперь оно деградирует.

В общем, очевидно, что дело плохо. Но можно ли еще спасти великую русскую реку? Представители экспертного сообщества настоятельно рекомендуют произвести ряд первоочередных мероприятий.

Необходимо произвести инвентаризацию и составить экологические паспорта на все малые реки, пруды и прочие гидротехнические сооружения, многие из которых просто заброшены. После нужно ликвидировать те из них, что уже не имеют хозяйственного значения, а также произвести расчистку русел рек. В срочном порядке заняться восстановлением водоохранных зон и берегозащитных полос, зеленых зон вдоль бассейна Дона. Также предлагается строительство специального нерестового канала в обход Кочетовского гидроузла. Только после выполнения комплекса таких мероприятий можно надеяться на постепенное улучшение экологической ситуации. И надо отдавать себе отчет, что происходить это будет очень не быстро. Но начинать надо было еще позавчера.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 23 июня 2021 17:13
    +1
    Был бы рад услышать мнение коллег из Ростовской области...
  2. Shelest2000 Офлайн Shelest2000
    Shelest2000 23 июня 2021 18:56
    +2
    Перекрыть Днепр и направить его воду в Дон. Ответить стране 404 тем же и своей стране помочь.
  3. Bitter Офлайн Bitter
    Bitter (Глеб) 23 июня 2021 21:55
    +2
    Чрезвычайно эффективное использование ресурсов новыми капиталистами. Толи ещё будет.
    Но главное чтобы маржа потолще была. А местная природа, да фиг с ней, из "домика" стоящего на испанском или итальянском берегу Дон не виден. Тут уже энтузиасты предлагали трубу из Сибири протянуть чуть ли не до Крыма. Ясен пень, Сибирь из Крыма тоже не видна.
  4. igor.igorev Офлайн igor.igorev
    igor.igorev (Игорь) 24 июня 2021 12:56
    0
    Странно. А либерда вопит, что у нас заводы все разрушены и сельского хозяйства нет, все поля стоят непаханные. А тут автор пишет, что они воды много потребляют.
    Так работают у нас заводы или нет? Распаханы земли?
  5. Kobra45 Офлайн Kobra45
    Kobra45 (Алиса Селезнева) 3 июля 2021 11:27
    +1
    Вот и направить бы воду русских рек пополняющих сегодня украинский Днепр в русские Дон и Волгу,толку было бы больше,а УКРОПчики все равно широту жеста Путина по халявному водоснабжению Украины не оценят,не в коня корм