How can Russia “green” its energy sector


The global energy transition announced by the leading world powers has become a serious challenge for Russia. It is believed that the domestic energy sector is backward and uncompetitive in comparison with the "green" European or American with their endless wind turbines and solar panels. But is everything really that bad, and is it really possible to "green up" the Russian energy sector?


If you look at the statistics for the last year, it turns out that the share of thermal power plants in the total energy balance of the country accounted for 69,6%, hydroelectric power plants - 18,8%, nuclear power plants - 11%, various renewable energy sources - about 1%. It turns out that "purely green" energy, to which even picky Europeans will not "get to the bottom", we have about 20% due to powerful hydroelectric power plants. What else can be improved and changed?

Mini-hydroelectric power station


Note that President Vladimir Putin personally announced the need to develop a network of small hydroelectric power plants. Our country has the second largest hydro potential in the world, so why are we talking about mini hydroelectric power plants?

The fact is that the time has passed for the construction of giant hydroelectric power plants. First, all the best spots have already been used. Secondly, it is corny and very expensive. Thirdly, the construction of such large-scale hydraulic structures will inevitably lead to a change in the microclimate in the vast adjacent territories, which is often the subject of fair criticism of ecologists. Finally, it just isn't always economically viable.

For this reason, it is optimal to rely on mini-hydroelectric power plants located on medium and small rivers, which do not require colossal investments and intervention in the environment. The Ministry of Energy of the Russian Federation plans to commission several new mini-HPPs with a total installed capacity of 2023 MW by 168. And this may only be the beginning.

"Green" nuclear power plants


No other topic causes such fierce controversy in the EU as whether nuclear energy can be considered "green". Objectively, NPPs do not emit any significant emissions of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. However, the events at the Japanese "Fukushima-1" so frightened the leadership of Germany that Germany made a bet on the complete abandonment of its nuclear power plants. Berlin believes that a peaceful atom may be carbon-neutral, but potentially dangerous.

This rather controversial position has already led to a split within the European Union. Against the backdrop of the growing energy crisis, France, Hungary, Bulgaria, Poland, Croatia, Romania, Finland, Slovakia and Slovenia have come out in favor of keeping nuclear power as one of the reliable sources of affordable electricity. For Paris, this is generally a matter of principle, since the Fifth Republic will receive about 70% of its energy balance from nuclear power plants. However, Germany and Belgium are categorically against nuclear energy. It is obvious that the positions of the two pillars of the European Union do not coincide completely.

Moscow is on the side of Paris in this matter. The share of nuclear power in the Russian energy balance reaches 11%, and Rosatom operates in many other countries. If it is possible to achieve the recognition of nuclear power plants as carbon-neutral in Europe, then the domestic power industry will automatically "green up" by more than 30%. These are already very significant indicators.

TPP


Everything is more complicated here. Most of Russia's electricity is traditionally generated by thermal power plants (TPPs). It uses coal, oil products or gas as fuel. Thermal power plants with steam turbine plants account for 79% of Russia's capacity, with combined cycle plants - 15,5%, with gas turbine plants - 4,8%, with other types of plants (diesel, gas piston) - 0,7%. TPPs provide the population not only with electricity, but also with heat and hot water. The problem is that it will not be possible to give up coal so easily with one strong-willed decision.

In terms of primary energy sources, the share of coal in the total energy balance of the country is 15%, in electricity generation - 16%, in heat production (in boiler houses and coal-fired power plants) - 21%. The Ministry of Energy of the Russian Federation plans to reduce this figure to 2050-4% by 5, but this is a difficult task. We will have to rebuild the established system of energy supply to entire regions, while building an alternative gas transmission network for the transition to "blue fuel". Work in Siberia and the Far East is endless, and it will take decades.

The nuance is that it will hardly be possible to completely gasify the country anyway. Many small settlements will be left behind, where it is economically unprofitable to pull the pipe. Most likely, they will remain on coal and thereby spoil the "green" indicators. What to do?

PES


An alternative would be the construction of so-called tidal power plants. The fact that three giant TPPs may appear in Russia at once, we in detail told previously. One of them can be built in the northwestern part of the country on the White Sea, and two more - in the eastern, on the coast of the Sea of ​​Okhotsk. The Tugurskaya and Penzhinskaya TPPs are able to generate so many "green kilowatts" that they will be enough not only for the entire Russian Far East, but will also remain for export to neighboring countries.

True, all this is very difficult and expensive, and it will probably require the formation of some international consortium in order to pull out such a large-scale project. It is not known whether foreign investors will agree to this.

"The lungs of the planet"


An alternative to the mega-construction project could be the recognition of the role of Russian forests in the absorption of greenhouse gases. Our country possesses about 20% of the world's forest fund, which is an undoubted competitive advantage, if we honestly play in the protection of the environment: yes, we threw something into the atmosphere from coal-fired power plants, but absorbed even more. But the European partners are openly “cheating” by refusing to recognize this positive climatic factor in Russia. According to their “double-decker” calculation methods, Estonian forests absorb twice as much carbon as the forests of the Pskov region, located across the border. These Russians ...

If Moscow still succeeds in pushing through the recognition of the role of our forests in the fight against the greenhouse effect, this will make it possible to compensate for the environmental damage caused by coal generation through quotas.
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. dub0vitsky Online dub0vitsky
    dub0vitsky (Victor) 10 November 2021 12: 45
    0
    If you build a hydroelectric power station not across the river, with a mighty dam and flooding of vast fertile lands (Russia is a very flat country in general), but along, scattering turbines on ropes along the river channel, moreover, this can be done almost at every village, then you can get by with a little interference with nature, get rid of the gigantism of power lines that depend on everything, and do this work without interrupting, for centuries, that is, constantly, and as new needs arise.
    1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 11 November 2021 07: 52
      +1
      Yes, there are interesting flowing vortex mini-hydroelectric power plants that can be installed even on a stream.
  2. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 10 November 2021 17: 07
    -1
    The idea is interesting but impracticable for technical and economic reasons.
  3. Face Offline Face
    Face (Alexander Lik) 10 November 2021 17: 49
    +2
    It's time to stop playing by Western rules.
  4. DV tam 25 Offline DV tam 25
    DV tam 25 (DV tam 25) 14 November 2021 14: 00
    -2
    Why should Russia "green" its energy industry ??? What will it give. The answer is ONE - will give nothing. The chatter of scientists (British?)) About warming (as in 2000 about a cold snap) is not based on anything! T.N. no scientific data! Apparently, all the talk about the so-called. "green energy" is nothing more than one of the tools of the West's influence on the rest of the world. Coal, gas, oil, oil shale will always be used by the modern world. These fossils will be enough for the earthly civilization (at the current level of production and consumption) for many thousands of years! And then it seems that oil is a renewable resource with a step of a hundred years ... with coal too ... there is an opinion ... about gas about the same). It would be nice, of course, to still move to new energy levels (as dreamed of in the 70s and 80s), but so far this one is also working normally. It's just that energy is the most convenient and serious tool for managing and punishing anyone who disagrees.
  5. andreshk Offline andreshk
    andreshk (Andrei) 10 December 2021 14: 38
    0
    Interesting article.
  6. bsb Offline bsb
    bsb (Boris Babitsky) 10 January 2022 10: 02
    0
    An inexhaustible source of electricity created by Nature is the world's oceans with anions and cations. Use defines the invention: "A method for generating electricity from underwater sea currents (including ebb and flow) and a device for its implementation", RF patent No. 2735039. Ions guided by magnets are direct electric current that can be converted into alternating current. And no underwater mechanical rotating hydraulic turbines. It's up to comprehension and implementation.

Как России «озеленить» свою энергетику


Заявленный ведущими мировыми державами глобальный энергопереход стал серьезным вызовом для России. Считается, что отечественная энергетика отсталая и неконкурентоспособная по сравнению с «зеленой» европейской или американской с их бесконечными ветряками и солнечными панелями. Но так ли все плохо на самом деле, и можно ли реально «озеленить» российскую энергетику?


Если посмотреть статистику за прошлый год, то получится, что на долю ТЭС в общем энергобалансе страны пришлось 69,6%, ГЭС – 18,8%, АЭС – 11%, различные ВИЭ – около 1%. Получается, что «чисто зеленой» энергетики, к которой не «докопаются» даже придирчивые европейцы, у нас примерно 20% за счет мощных гидроэлектростанций. Что же еще можно улучшить и изменить?

Мини-ГЭС


Отметим, что президент Владимир Путин лично заявил о необходимости развития сети малых ГЭС. Наша страна имеет второй в мире по величине гидропотенциал, так почему речь идет о мини-гидроэлектростанциях?

Дело в том, что время для строительства гигантских ГЭС уже прошло. Во-первых, все лучшие места уже использованы. Во-вторых, это банально очень дорого. В-третьих, возведение столь масштабных гидротехнических сооружений неминуемо ведет к изменению микроклимата в обширных прилегающих территориях, что зачастую служит предметом справедливой критики экологов. Наконец, это просто не всегда экономически оправданно.

По этой причине оптимальной является ставка на мини-гидроэлектростанции, расположенные на средних и малых реках, не требующие колоссальных инвестиций и вмешательства в окружающую среду. В планах Минэнерго РФ ввод в строй до 2023 года нескольких новых мини-ГЭС суммарной установленной мощностью 168 МВт. И это может быть только началом.

«Зеленые» АЭС


Ни одна тема не вызывает столь ожесточенные споры в ЕС, как то, можно ли считать атомную энергетику «зеленой». Объективно АЭС не дают каких-либо значимых выбросов углекислого газа в атмосферу. Однако события на японской «Фукусима-1» настолько напугали руководство Германии, что ФРГ сделала ставку на полный отказ от своих АЭС. В Берлине считают, что мирный атом, может быть, и углеродно-нейтральный, но потенциально опасный.

Эта достаточно спорная позиция уже сейчас привела к расколу внутри Европейского союза. На фоне разрастающегося энергетического кризиса Франция, Венгрия, Болгария, Польша, Хорватия, Румыния, Финляндия, Словакии и Словения выступили за то, чтобы сохранить атомную энергетику как один из надежных источников получения недорогой электроэнергии. Для Парижа это вообще дело принципа, поскольку Пятая Республика получит от АЭС порядка 70% в своем энергобалансе. Однако категорически против атомной энергетики выступает Германия и Бельгия. Очевидно полное несовпадение позиций двух столпов Евросоюза.

Москва в данном вопросе выступает на стороне Парижа. Доля атомной энергетики в российском энергобалансе достигает 11%, а «Росатом» работает во множестве других стран. Если удастся добиться признания АЭС углеродно-нейтральными в Европе, то отечественная энергетика автоматически «озеленится» более чем на 30%. Это уже очень существенные показатели.

ТЭС


Тут все сложнее. Большая часть российской электроэнергии традиционно вырабатывается на теплоэлектростанциях (ТЭС). В качестве топлива там используется уголь, нефтепродукты либо газ. На теплоэлектростанции с паротурбинными установками приходится 79 % мощностей России, с парогазовыми установками - 15,5 %, с газотурбинными установками - 4,8 %, с установками других типов (дизельные, газопоршневые) - 0,7 %. ТЭС обеспечивают население не только электроэнергией, но также и теплом, и горячей водой. Проблема заключается в том, что так просто одним волевым решением отказаться от угля не получится.

По первичным источникам энергии доля угля в совокупном энергобалансе страны составляет 15%, в выработке электроэнергии – 16%, при производстве тепла (в котельных и на угольных электростанциях) – 21%. В планах Минэнерго РФ сократить к 2050 году эту цифру до 4-5%, но это сложная задача. Придется перестраивать устоявшуюся систему энергоснабжения целых регионов, одновременно выстраивая альтернативную газотранспортную сеть для перехода на «голубое топливо». Работы в Сибири и на Дальнем Востоке непочатый край, и она займет десятилетия.

Нюанс заключается в том, что полностью газифицировать страну все равно едва ли получится. За бортом останется множество малых населенных пунктов, куда тянуть трубу экономически невыгодно. По всей видимости, они так и останутся на угле и будут тем самым портить «зеленые» показатели. Что делать?

ПЭС


Альтернативой может послужить строительство так называемых приливных электростанций. О том, что в России может появиться сразу три гигантских ПЭС, мы подробно рассказывали ранее. Одна из них может быть возведена в северо-западной части страны на Белом море, а еще две – в восточной, на побережье Охотского моря. Тугурская и Пенжинская ПЭС в состоянии вырабатывать столько «зеленых киловатт», что их хватит не только всему Дальнему Востоку России, но и на экспорт в соседние страны останется.

Правда, все это очень сложно и дорого, вероятно, потребует образования некоего международного консорциума, чтобы вытянуть такой масштабный проект. Пойдут ли на это зарубежные инвесторы, неизвестно.

«Легкие планеты»


Альтернативой мега-стройке может выступить признание роли российских лесов в поглощении парниковых газов. Наша страна располагает порядка 20% мирового лесного фонда, что является несомненным конкурентным преимуществом, если по-честному играть в защиту экологии: да, мы что-то выбросили в атмосферу с угольных ТЭС, но поглотили еще больше. Вот только европейские партнеры откровенно «мухлюют», отказываясь признать за Россией этот положительный климатический фактор. По их «двурушным» методикам расчета леса Эстонии поглощают углерода в два раза больше, чем леса Псковской области, расположенной через границу. Эти русские…

Если Москве все-таки удастся продавить признание роли наших лесов в борьбе с парниковым эффектом, это позволит компенсировать экологический вред, причиняемый угольной генерацией, за счет квот.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. dub0vitsky Офлайн dub0vitsky
    dub0vitsky (Виктор) 10 ноября 2021 12:45
    0
    Если строить ГЭС не поперёк реки, с могучей плотиной и затоплением обширных плодородных земель (Россия очень плоская в общем-то страна), а вдоль, разбрасывая турбинки на тросах по фарватеру реки, причём, это можно делать чуть ли не у каждого села, то можно обойтись малым вмешательством в природу, избавится от гигантизма электролиний, зависящими от всего, и делать эту работу не прерывая, столетиями, то есть, постоянно, и по мере возникновения новых потребностей.
    1. Маржецкий Онлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 11 ноября 2021 07:52
      +1
      Да, есть интересные проточные вихревые мини-ГЭС, которые хоть на ручье ставить можно.
  2. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 10 ноября 2021 17:07
    -1
    Мысль интересная но неосуществима по технико-экономическим причинам.
  3. Лик Офлайн Лик
    Лик (Александр Лик) 10 ноября 2021 17:49
    +2
    Пора перестать играть по западным правилам.
  4. DV tam 25 Офлайн DV tam 25
    DV tam 25 (DV tam 25) 14 ноября 2021 14:00
    -2
    Зачем России "озеленять" свою энергетику??? Что это даст. Ответ ОДИН - ничего не даст. Болтовня ученых (британских?)) о потеплении (как в 2000 о похолодании) не основывается ни на чем! Т.н. научных данных нет! По всей видимости все разговоры о т.н. "зеленой энергетике" есть не что иное как один из инструментов воздействия запада на остальной мир. Уголь, газ, нефть, горючие сланцы будут использоваться современным миром всегда. Этих ископаемых хватит земной цивилизации (при современном уровне добыче и потребления) на многоие тыщи лет! И потом, похоже, что нефть ресурс возобновляемый с шагом в сотню лет... с углем тоже ... есть мнение... про газ примерно так-же). Неплохо, конечно, было бы, все-таки перейти на новые уровни энергетики (как мечтали в 70-80-е) но, пока и эта нормально работает. Просто энергетика - это самый удобный и серьезный инструмент управления и наказания всяких несогласных.