Turkish gambit. Why Erdogan is clashing Rosatom and Gazprom


The energy crisis that suddenly broke out in Europe forced many to look at nuclear energy in a new way. If Germany and Belgium flatly refuse from nuclear power plants, then ten other European countries, led by France, began to insist on their preservation. Moreover, Paris is about to start building new nuclear power plants to reduce the Fifth Republic's dependence on energy imports. Ankara came to exactly the same conclusions and decided to bring the total number of nuclear power plants in its country to three.


This was stated personally by President Erdogan, having visited the actively under construction Akkuyu NPP:

We plan to commission the first unit in 2023. Thus, Turkey will become one of the few countries with nuclear energy. After Akkuyu, we will start work on the second and even the third nuclear power plant.

In theory, Rosatom is supposed to rejoice here, since with a proposal for further cooperation, the Sultan again went to Moscow, bypassing the French and Chinese. However, everything is not so simple, since the implementation of these projects will fundamentally change the energy system of Turkey, which may come back to haunt another Russian state corporation, Gazprom, which President Erdogan is essentially pushing their heads against Rosatom. But let's talk about everything in order.

The Sultan's cunning plan


The Akkuyu NPP project for Turkey has been criticized many times, and deservedly so. Rosatom went on an experiment with an extremely dubious business model, according to the "build-own-operate" formula (in English - BOO, Build-Own-Operate). This means that the nuclear power plant will be owned by a Russian company through its subsidiary, and the state corporation itself will bear the entire burden of its maintenance, responsibility and the need to sell electricity to consumers in order to recoup the invested $ 22 billion. At the same time, Turkey refused to sign an agreement guaranteeing sales to Rosatom at fixed tariffs.

This completely contradicts the established world practice, when a contractor builds a nuclear power plant, receives payment for it and transfers it to a happy customer, further providing services to maintain its operability. An alternative is an agreement between investors and the government, which undertakes to buy out certain volumes of electricity at a fixed price, usually overstated, as was the case in the British Hinckley Point NPP project.

But Rosatom went its own way. The most that Ankara was able to persuade was its obligatory purchase of 70% of the volume of electricity from the first two power units at a price of 12,35 US cents per kilowatt / hour during the first 15 years, and 30% from the next two. After Akkuyu reaches recoupment, Turkey will receive 20% of its net income. If we add to this the geopolitical risks of relations between Moscow and Ankara, then the nuclear power plant project in Turkey becomes a completely outright gamble.

And so the "sultan" proposed to the Kremlin to build two more nuclear power plants in Turkey, about which we will discuss in more detail. told previously. The second can appear near the city of Sinop, the third - in Ingleada near Bulgaria. It is obvious that Ankara already has plans for exporting electricity to the European Union. If Rosatom signs an agreement on the construction of the second and third Turkish nuclear power plants on the same terms as Akkuyu, all that remains is to twirl a finger at his temple.

At first, the state corporation "pours" into extremely high-risk projects with an unreliable business partner, which is modern Turkey, no longer 22, but (22 multiplied by 3) 66 billion budget dollars. In case of aggravation of relations between Ankara and Moscow, these nuclear power plants can simply be nationalized. There may be a lot of reasons: we are waging a hybrid war with the Turks in Syria, and in Libya, and in Nagorno-Karabakh, and now in Central Asia. The American company Westinghouse will gladly help Ankara with replacing Russian fuel with American.

SecondlyHaving spent such a gigantic amount of budget funds in foreign currency, Rosatom will cross the road to Gazprom. As you know, the domestic monopoly has built the Turkish Stream gas pipeline with an aggregate capacity of 31,5 billion cubic meters per year. It supplies half of these volumes in transit to Europe, the second goes to Turkish consumers. So, the four Akkuyu power units will produce a total of 4800 MW of capacity, which, according to some estimates, will lead to a decrease in consumption of about 5 billion cubic meters of gas. If three such nuclear power plants appear in Turkey, this will be equivalent to the volume of gas that Gazprom can supply through one of the two lines of the Turkish Stream for the internal needs of Turkey.

Just great". To build three nuclear power plants for the Turks at their own expense in order to lose the gas sales market in Turkey. At the same time, Ankara will be able to export surplus electricity to neighboring Bulgaria and other EU countries, reducing its dependence on Russian gas on the European market. Who do you have to be to voluntarily agree to participate in this?

What else can you do


We can try to reduce the voiced geopolitical risks to more reasonable ones. Of course, in no case should one agree to the construction of a second and third nuclear power plant in Turkey on the same terms as Akkuyu. Today the situation on the energy market is such that Rosatom's negotiating positions are much better. There is no need to rush into agreement at all, since there has not yet been a queue of those wishing to take on these projects. And if they do build, then either purely as a contractor, or as an investor with a long-term contract for the sale of electricity at a fixed price, which will directly and unequivocally provide for a clause on protection against possible nationalization of the NPP.

Regarding the Turkish gas market. Yes, Gazprom is likely to lose it in the medium term. The question is what to do with the falling volumes? Perhaps it is worth redirecting them from Turkey to Europe, but not through the Turkish Stream, but through the Southern Gas Transportation Corridor. Let us recall that under the terms of the EU Third Energy Package, the owner of the gas pipeline is obliged to provide 50% of its capacity to another supplier, which in this case may be Gazprom. And it would be better to hurry up with this, because against the background of the energy crisis in the EU, Brussels and Ankara are increasingly looking at Turkmen gas, which can flow through the Southern Corridor via the Trans-Caspian gas pipeline, the legal obstacles for the construction of which are no longer left.

If we link the construction of two new nuclear power plants in Turkey and the possible loss of its gas market with Gazprom's access to the Southern Gas Transportation Corridor through the norms of the EU's Third Energy Package, then geopolitical risks for Russia will significantly decrease.
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 11 November 2021 19: 14
    -1
    - In general - it is difficult to understand something in this confusion - and is it worth trying - such a continuous gibberish ...
    - Personally, I would be for ... - for all this "construction" of nuclear power plants and everything else in Turkey - but only during the reign of Catherine II - tk. all the same, Turkey would be defeated (it would disappear as a state in general - which is what Catherine II was striving for) - and all these "new buildings" would still go to Russia ... to bring "similar projects" to life ...
  2. Kim Rum Eun Offline Kim Rum Eun
    Kim Rum Eun (Kim Rum Yn) 12 November 2021 07: 28
    0
    we are waging a hybrid war with the Turks in Syria, Libya, and Nagorno-Karabakh ...

    1) It is necessary to define more precisely who this "we" is? The author himself in collaboration with his verbiage?
    2) If we are talking about the Russian Federation, then the official position of Russia is that the RF Armed Forces are in Syria at the official invitation of the legitimate government of the SAR, and in Libya and Karabakh they will officially "insist".
    3) Next, you need to define the term "hybrid war". If you look very closely, then this portal is literally "in the first trenches" of this very war.

    Taki yeah ...

    - In general, it is difficult to understand something in this confusion - and is it worth trying - such a solid gibberish ...
  3. Marzhecki Online Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 12 November 2021 08: 04
    -1
    Quote: Kim Rum Eun
    1) It is necessary to define more precisely who this "we" is? The author himself in collaboration with his verbiage?
    2) If we are talking about the Russian Federation, then the official position of Russia is that the RF Armed Forces are in Syria at the official invitation of the legitimate government of the SAR, and in Libya and Karabakh they will officially "insist".

    Your comment is an example of a classic verbiage. Bravo! good

    Taki yeah ...
    - In general - it is difficult to understand something in this confusion - and is it worth trying - such a continuous gibberish ...

    Well, read something simpler smile
    1. Kim Rum Eun Offline Kim Rum Eun
      Kim Rum Eun (Kim Rum Yn) 12 November 2021 09: 04
      +2
      Taki yeah ...
      - In general - it is difficult to understand something in this confusion - and is it worth trying - such a continuous gibberish ...

      I wrote about abracadabra gorenina91 (irina), and I just repeated it as a quote.

      Well, read something simpler ...

      I have been doing this for a long time. I am reading.
      Not simpler, but smarter.
      I don't have to bother with all kinds of rubbish like that.
  4. Sergeyjluf Offline Sergeyjluf
    Sergeyjluf (Sergei) 12 November 2021 08: 41
    0
    Dubious conclusions! Nuclear power plant generation is not designed for "peak load". She is not able to sharply increase and drop power. Therefore, for peak loads, the generation of gas-fired thermal power plants is needed, when you can easily turn off or turn on several generators to ensure a sharp increase in consumption or a sharp decrease in electricity consumption. Therefore, the interests of Rosatom and Gazprom will not overlap.

Турецкий гамбит. Зачем Эрдоган сталкивает «Росатом» и «Газпром»


Энергетический кризис, неожиданно разразившийся в Европе, заставил многих по-новому посмотреть на атомную энергетику. Если Германия и Бельгия наотрез отказываются от АЭС, то десять других европейских стран во главе с Францией начали настаивать на их сохранении. Более того, Париж собирается начать строить новые атомные электростанции, чтобы снизить зависимость Пятой Республики от импорта энергии. Ровно к тем же выводам пришла и Анкара, решившая довести общее количество АЭС в своей стране до трех.


Об этом заявил лично президент Эрдоган, побывав на активно строящейся АЭС «Аккую»:

Первый блок мы планируем ввести в строй в 2023 году. Таким образом Турция войдет в число немногих стран с атомной энергетикой. После «Аккую» мы начнем работу над второй и даже над третьей АЭС.

По идее, тут полагается радоваться «Росатому», поскольку с предложением о дальнейшем сотрудничестве «султан» вновь вышел на Москву, обойдя французов и китайцев. Однако все не так просто, поскольку реализация этих проектов коренным образом изменит энергетическую систему Турции, что может аукнуться другой российской госкорпорации, «Газпрому», которую президент Эрдоган по сути дела сталкивает лбами с «Росатомом». Но давайте обо все по порядку.

Хитрый план «султана»


Проект АЭС «Аккую» для Турции неоднократно подвергался критике, и вполне заслуженно. «Росатом» пошел на эксперимент с крайне сомнительной бизнес-моделью, по формуле «строй-владей-эксплуатируй» (в английском – BOO, Build-Own-Operate). Это означает, что атомная станция будет находиться в собственности российской компании через ее дочернее предприятие, и госкорпорация сама будет нести все бремя ее содержания, ответственности и необходимости сбывать электроэнергию потребителям, чтобы отбить вложенные 22 миллиарда долларов. При этом Турция отказалась подписывать соглашение, гарантирующее «Росатому» сбыт по фиксированным тарифам.

Это полностью противоречит устоявшейся мировой практике, когда подрядчик строит АЭС, получает за это оплату и передает ее счастливому заказчику, в дальнейшем оказывая услуги по поддержанию ее работоспособности. Альтернативой является соглашение инвесторов с правительством, которое берет на себя обязательства по выкупу определенных объемов электроэнергии по фиксированной цене, как правило, завышенной, как это было реализовано в проекте британской АЭС «Хинкли Пойнт».

Но «Росатом» пошел своим путем. Максимум, на что удалось склонить Анкару, это обязательный выкуп ею 70% объемов электроэнергии с первых двух энергоблоков по цене 12,35 цента США за киловатт/час в течение первых 15 лет, и 30% с двух последующих. После выхода «Аккую» на окупаемость Турция будет получать 20% от ее чистых доходов. Если добавить к этому геополитические риски взаимоотношений Москвы с Анкарой, то проект АЭС в Турции становится совсем уж откровенной авантюрой.

И вот «султан» предложил Кремлю построить в Турции еще две АЭС, о чем мы подробнее рассказывали ранее. Вторая может появиться возле города Синопа, третья - в Инглеаде неподалеку от Болгарии. Очевидно, что Анкара уже сейчас имеет виды на экспорт электроэнергии в Евросоюз. Если «Росатом» подпишет соглашение о строительстве второй и третьей турецких АЭС на тех же условиях, что и «Аккую», тут останется только покрутить пальцем у виска.

Во-первых, госкорпорация «вбухает» в крайне высокорисковые проекты с ненадежным деловым партнером, коим является современная Турция, уже не 22, а (22 умножить на 3) 66 миллиардов бюджетных долларов. В случае обострения взаимоотношений Анкары с Москвой эти АЭС могут быть просто национализированы. Поводов может найтись масса: мы ведем с турками гибридную войну и в Сирии, и в Ливии, и в Нагорном Карабахе, и теперь в Средней Азии. С заменой российского топлива на американское Анкаре с удовольствием поможет американская компания Westinghouse.

Во-вторых, потратив столь гигантскую сумму бюджетных средств в валюте, «Росатом» перейдет дорогу «Газпрому». Как известно, отечественный монополист построил газопровод «Турецкий поток» совокупной мощностью в 31,5 миллиарда кубометров в год. Половину от этих объемов он поставляет транзитом в Европу, вторая идет турецким потребителям. Так вот, четыре энергоблока «Аккую» выдадут совокупно 4800 МВт мощности, что по некоторым оценкам приведет к снижению потребления порядка 5 миллиардов кубометров газа. Если в Турции появится три таких атомных электростанции, это будет эквивалентно тому объему газа, что «Газпром» может поставлять по одной из двух ниток «Турецкого потока» для внутренних нужд Турции.

Просто «замечательно». Построить за свой счет туркам три АЭС, чтобы лишиться рынка сбыта газа в Турции. При этом Анкара получит возможность экспортировать излишки электроэнергии в соседнюю Болгарию и другие страны ЕС, снижая зависимость от российского газа и на европейском рынке. Это ж кем надо быть, чтобы добровольно согласиться в таком участвовать?

Что еще можно сделать


Озвученные геополитические риски можно попытаться снизить до более разумных. Разумеется, ни в коем случае нельзя соглашаться на строительство второй и третьей АЭС в Турции на те же условиях, что и «Аккую». Сегодня ситуация на энергетическом рынке такова, что переговорные позиции «Росатома» значительно лучше. Можно вообще не торопиться с согласием, поскольку очереди из желающих взяться за эти проекты пока не наблюдается. А если и строить, то либо чисто в качестве подрядчика, либо как инвестор, имеющий долгосрочный договор на сбыт электроэнергии по фиксированной цене, в котором будет прямо и недвусмысленно предусмотрен пункт о защите от возможной национализации АЭС.

Касательно газового рынка Турции. Да, «Газпром» его в среднесрочной перспективе, скорее всего, потеряет. Вопрос в том, что делать с выпадающими объемами? Возможно, стоит перенаправить их из Турции в Европу, но не через «Турецкий поток», а через Южный газотранспортный коридор. Вспомним, что по условиям Третьего энергопакета ЕС собственник газопровода обязан предоставить 50% его мощности иному поставщику, которым в данном случае может выступить «Газпром». И лучше бы с этим поторопиться, поскольку на фоне энергетического кризиса в ЕС Брюссель и Анкара все активнее присматриваются к туркменскому газу, который может потечь через Южный коридор по Транскаспийскому газопроводу, юридических препятствий для строительства которого уже не осталось.

Если увязать строительство двух новых АЭС в Турции и возможную потерю ее газового рынка с доступом «Газпрома» к Южному газотранспортному коридору через нормы Третьего энергопакета ЕС, то геополитические риски для России значительно снизятся.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 11 ноября 2021 19:14
    -1
    - Вообще - трудно что-то понять в этом сумбуре - и стоит ли пытаться - такая сплошная абракадабра...
    - Лично Я была бы за ... - за всё это "строительство" АЭС и всего прочего в Турции - но только во времена правления Екатерины II - т.к. всё равно Турция была бы повержена (исчезла бы как государство вообще - к чему и стремилась Екатерина II) - и все эти "новострои" всё равно - достались бы России... - А в наше время трудно понять - какую цель преследует Россия , пытаясь воплотить в жизнь "подобные прожекты"...
  2. Kim Rum Ын Офлайн Kim Rum Ын
    Kim Rum Ын (Kim Rum Yn) 12 ноября 2021 07:28
    0
    мы ведем с турками гибридную войну и в Сирии, и в Ливии, и в Нагорном Карабахе ...

    1) Надо точнее обозначить, кто это "мы"? Сам автор в соавторстве со своим словоблудием?
    2) Если речь идёт про РФ, то официальная позиция России такова, что в Сирии ВС РФ находятся по официальному приглашению законного правительства САР, а в Ливии и Карабахе официально "настамнет".
    3) Далее надо определиться с термином "гибридная война". Если посмотреть очень внимательно, то данный портал находится буквально "в первых окопах" этой самой войны.

    Таки дааа ...

    - Вообще - трудно что-то понять в этом сумбуре - и стоит ли пытаться - такая сплошная абракадабра...
  3. Маржецкий Онлайн Маржецкий
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 12 ноября 2021 08:04
    -1
    Цитата: Kim Rum Ын
    1) Надо точнее обозначить, кто это "мы"? Сам автор в соавторстве со своим словоблудием?
    2) Если речь идёт про РФ, то официальная позиция России такова, что в Сирии ВС РФ находятся по официальному приглашению законного правительства САР, а в Ливии и Карабахе официально "настамнет".

    Ваш комментарий и есть пример классического словоблудия. Браво! good

    Таки дааа ...
    - Вообще - трудно что-то понять в этом сумбуре - и стоит ли пытаться - такая сплошная абракадабра...

    Ну, читайте что-нибудь попроще smile
    1. Kim Rum Ын Офлайн Kim Rum Ын
      Kim Rum Ын (Kim Rum Yn) 12 ноября 2021 09:04
      +2
      Таки дааа ...
      - Вообще - трудно что-то понять в этом сумбуре - и стоит ли пытаться - такая сплошная абракадабра...

      Про абракадабру написал gorenina91 (Ирина), а я лишь повторил, как цитату.

      Ну, читайте что-нибудь попроще ...

      Я уже давно так и делаю. Читаю.
      Не попроще, а поумнее.
      Мне совсем незачем забивать голову всяким мусором типа этого.
  4. Sergejluf Офлайн Sergejluf
    Sergejluf (Сергей) 12 ноября 2021 08:41
    0
    Сомнительные выводы! Генерация АЭС не предназначена для "пиковой нагрузки". Она не способна резко нарастить и сбросить мощности. Поэтому для пиковых нагрузок нужна генерация газовых ТЭС, когда можно легко отключить или включить несколько генераторов для обеспечения резкого увеличения потребления или резкого уменьшения потребления электроэнергии. Поэтому интересы "Росатома" и "Газпрома" не пересекутся.