The European Union: the abolition of the INF Treaty will turn us into a battlefield of the United States and Russia

The head of European diplomacy Federica Mogherini, who broke out today threats addressed Russia about the Sea of ​​Azov, made another important statement, showing more sober thinking this time. She advocated the preservation of the Intermediate-Range Missile Treaty, from which US President Donald Trump wishes to withdraw.



Before starting negotiations with the EU defense ministers, Mogherini emphasized that the EU wants the INF Treaty to be respected. She spoke about her meeting two days ago with NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg, with whom she discussed this issue.

I am extremely concerned because we are all convinced that the agreement is important and must be fully implemented.

- said the European official.

She expressed hope that the agreement would not be dismantled, but strengthened. Otherwise, the situation with medium and short-range missiles threatens the security of Europe. Therefore, the INF Treaty is very important for the countries of the European Union. At the same time, Mogherini added that the problem of the contract is the lack of enforcement mechanisms.

We do not want the region to again become a place of struggle for other powers

- the head of European diplomacy clarified her position.

The INF Treaty was signed between the Soviet Union and the United States in 1987. It provides for the elimination of all ground-based cruise and ballistic missiles with a range of 500-5500 kilometers. The parties undertook to abandon their further production. However, at present, US President Donald Trump intends to withdraw from the agreement, accusing Russia of violating it. Moscow threatens not to leave such a step unanswered.
  • Used photos: vpk-news.ru
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Евросоюз: отмена ДРСМД превратит нас в поле боя США и России

Глава европейской дипломатии Федерика Могерини, которая сегодня разразилась угрозами в адрес России по поводу Азовского моря, сделала еще одно важное заявление, проявив на сей раз более трезвое мышления. Она выступила за сохранение Договора о ракетах средней и меньшей дальности, из которого желает выйти президент США Дональд Трамп.


Перед тем, как начать переговоры с министрами обороны государств Евросоюза, Могерини подчеркнула, что ЕС хочет, чтобы договор РСМСД соблюдался. Она рассказала о своей встрече два дня назад с генеральным секретарем НАТО Йенсом Столтенбергом, с которым обсуждала этот вопрос.



Я крайне обеспокоена, потому что мы все убеждены, что соглашение важное и должно полностью выполняться

— заявила еврочиновница.

Она выразила надежду на то, что договор будет не демонтирован, а укреплен. В противном случае ситуация с ракетами средней и малой дальности грозит безопасности Европы. Поэтому ДРСМД очень важен для стран Евросоюза. При этом Могерини добавила, что проблемой договора является отсутствие механизмов принуждения к его исполнению.

Мы не хотим, чтобы регион вновь стал местом борьбы для других держав

— уточнила свою позицию глава европейской дипломатии.

Договор РСМД был подписан между Советским Союзом и Соединенными Штатами в 1987 году. Он предусматривает ликвидацию всех крылатых и баллистических ракет наземного базирования дальностью 500-5500 километров. Стороны обязались отказаться от их дальнейшего производства. Однако в настоящее время президент США Дональд Трамп намеревается выйти из соглашения, обвиняя Россию в его нарушении. Москва грозит не оставить такой шаг без ответа.
Использованы фотографии: vpk-news.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти