EU destroys Poland's ambitious plans in the Baltic

Poland is building new plans for "getting rid of Russian dependence", but they may collapse. European Commission запретила Warsaw to build a canal through the Baltic Spit, indicating the inappropriateness of the project.


The Baltic (or, as they say in Poland, Vistula) spit is a narrow strip of land that separates the Kaliningrad Bay from the Gdansk Bay. It is divided between Poland and Russia.

Poland sees the problem in that its ships leaving the port of Elblag are forced to sail through Russian waters past Baltiysk. The problem, in fact, is small. Russia does not impede Polish shipping. The passage fee is purely symbolic. Not many ships leave Elblлонg.

Poland was happy with everything until the party “Law and Justice” came to power. She staged anti-Russian hysteria about the inadmissibility of dependence on Russia. There was an idea to dig a canal through the Baltic spit.

Russia opposed the project because of concerns about the environmental situation. She was supported by European environmental organizations. Now the European Commission has ordered to stop the implementation of the project.

There is no economic sense in it for Warsaw. But there is also a militarypolitical motive. There are suggestions in Poland that the Gulf of Kaliningrad will become the scene of a war with Russia, and Warsaw will have to send its ships there. The country will need the possibility of free passage into the strait.

In addition, the project provides for the creation of an artificial island, which can be useful for military purposes. There was information that the NATO headquarters would be located in Elblag. It turns out that the EU thwarts plans to militarize the region. The question is whether Europeans will change their minds after the first shout from overseas.

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Евросоюз рушит амбициозные планы Польши на Балтике

Польша строит новые планы «избавления от российской зависимости», но они могут рухнуть. Еврокомиссия запретила Варшаве строить канал через Балтийскую косу, указав на нецелесообразность проекта.

Балтийская (или, как говорят в Польше, Вислинская) коса — узкая полоска земли, отделяющая Калининградский залив от Гданьской бухты. Она поделена между Польшей и Россией.


Польша видит проблему в том, что ее суда, выходящие из порта Эльблонг, вынуждены идти по российским водам мимо Балтийска. Проблема, на самом деле, невелика. Россия не препятствует польскому судоходству. Плата за проход чисто символическая. Из Эльблонга выходит не так уж много судов.

Польшу все устраивало до тех пор, пока к власти не пришла партия «Право и справедливость». Она устроила антироссийскую истерию на тему недопустимости зависимости от России. Появилась идея прорыть канал через Балтийскую косу.

Россия выступила против проекта из-за опасений за экологическую обстановку. Ее поддержали европейские экологические организации. Теперь и Еврокомиссия распорядилась остановить реализацию проекта.

Экономического смысла в нем для Варшавы нет. Но есть еще и военно-политический мотив. В Польше звучат предположения, что Калининградский залив станет ареной войны с Россией, и Варшаве придется направить туда свои корабли. Стране понадобится возможность свободного прохода в пролив.

Кроме того, проект предусматривает создание искусственного острова, который может пригодиться в военных целях. Была информация и о том, что в Эльблонге будет размещен штабной центр НАТО. Выходит, ЕС срывает планы по милитаризации региона. Вопрос, не изменят ли европейцы своего мнения после первого окрика из-за океана.

Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти