Erdogan refused to accept jurisdiction of the Montreux convention over Istanbul canal


The projected Istanbul Canal, which is supposed to relieve the Bosphorus, will not be subject to the 1936 Montreux Convention. This was announced on April 14, 2021 by Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan.


According to him, the new waterway will strengthen the sovereignty and independence of Turkey.

The Istanbul Canal has no connection with the Montreux Convention. This channel will be an achievement for us, will help to seriously relieve the Bosphorus from the point of view of environmental protection.

- he is quoted by the Turkish TV channel Haberturk.

The Istanbul channel project was proposed by Erdogan in 2011, when he was still prime minister. The channel should connect the Black and Marmara seas, passing north of the existing Bosphorus. Throughout this time, the Turkish leader has repeatedly made it clear that he does not like the Montreux Convention. But during this time he did not take any specific actions, hinting only that the passage through the Istanbul canal would be paid.

Erdogan wants to unload the Bosphorus and compensate for the $ 25 billion that will be spent on the construction of the Istanbul canal. However, the passage of merchant ships through the Bosphorus is free and free, therefore, the collection of money in the mentioned channel will be considered a direct violation of Art. 2 Montreux conventions.

March 27 Turkish Ministry of Environment and Urbanization approved zoning plan for the Istanbul shipping canal. April 5 Erdogan saidthat his country will continue to comply with the Montreux Convention "until a suitable replacement appears."

It should be noted that in 2016 another 20-year term of the Montreux Convention expired. In 2014, i.e. two years before the end of the next period, no one proposed to denounce it, so this international document was automatically extended for the next 20 years.

Note that the mode of passage of warships through the Bosphorus and Dardanelles straits is significantly different. According to the Montreux convention, the countries of the Black Sea region can navigate any ships through the straits, notifying Turkey in advance. At the same time, restrictions on class, tonnage and time spent in the Black Sea have been introduced for warships of non-Black Sea countries.

Currently, Erdogan is trying to amend the country's Constitution and remove an article that prohibits him from repealing international treaties recognized by the local parliament. In the event that Turkey refuses to comply with the Montreux Convention, the borders of this country, which have existed since 1921, the moment of the signing of the Moscow Treaty (“the Treaty of Friendship and Fraternity), may be questioned.

Given the resonance, the Turkish authorities had to give an official explanation on this matter. On April 15, Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu said in an interview with NTV that his country is going to implement the Montreux Convention in full.

We, as before, continue to comply with the Montreux Convention. It clearly limits the mode of passage of warships. We continue to use it, no one needs to worry about this.

- summed up the Turkish minister.
  • Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. zzdimk Offline zzdimk
    zzdimk April 15 2021 13: 46
    0
    Quite expected. Moreover, they are going to dig a channel just to get out of this convention.
    1. Piramidon Offline Piramidon
      Piramidon (Stepan) April 15 2021 17: 29
      +1
      Quote: zzdimk
      they are going to dig a channel just to get out of this convention

      Have you already agreed on a contract with the Sumerians? Who else? They have centuries of experience.

  2. zzdimk Offline zzdimk
    zzdimk April 15 2021 18: 00
    0
    Quote: Piramidon
    Quote: zzdimk
    they are going to dig a channel just to get out of this convention

    Have you already agreed on a contract with the Sumerians? Who else? They have centuries of experience.

    It would be fun if they, the Ukroshumeri, were not pushed ... But these are not Sumerians. It's hard to be very careful with these. Otherwise, Dagestan will be declared their own. But he is Russian. After the war with Iran.
    I'm talking about Turkey. They have no conscience or normal history.
  3. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) April 15 2021 20: 36
    +1
    Turkey is a NATO member, despite the existing problems. The main thing is that the Istanbul Canal will allow to increase levies and significantly replenish the budget.
    1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 16 2021 20: 10
      0
      Dear Anonymous!
      The Bosphorus and the Dardanelles are international straits, the use of which is determined by an international treaty of 1936. The Republic of Turkey strictly complies with it.
      This is the position today.

Эрдоган отказался признавать юрисдикцию конвенции Монтрё над каналом «Стамбул»


Проектируемый канал «Стамбул», который должен разгрузить пролив Босфор, не будет подпадать под конвенцию Монтрё от 1936 года. Об этом 14 апреля 2021 года сообщил президент Турции Реджеп Тайип Эрдоган.


С его слов новая водная артерия укрепит суверенитет и независимость Турции.

У канала «Стамбул» нет никакой связи с конвенцией Монтрё. Этот канал для нас станет достижением, поможет серьезно разгрузить пролив Босфор с точки зрения охраны окружающей среды

– цитирует его слова турецкий телеканал Haberturk.

Проект канала «Стамбул» был предложен Эрдоганом в 2011 году, когда он был еще премьер-министром. Канал должен соединить Черное и Мраморное моря, пройдя севернее существующего Босфора. На протяжении всего этого времени турецкий лидер неоднократно давал понять, что конвенция Монтрё ему не нравится. Но за это время он не предпринимал никаких конкретных действий, намекая лишь, что проход через канал «Стамбул» будет платным.

Эрдоган хочет разгрузить Босфор и компенсировать $25 млрд, которые будут израсходованы на строительство канала «Стамбул». Однако проход торговых судов через Босфор является свободным и бесплатным, поэтому взимание денег в упомянутом канале будет считаться прямым нарушением ст. 2 конвенции Монтрё.

27 марта министерство окружающей среды и урбанизации Турции утвердило план зонирования судоходного канала «Стамбул». 5 апреля Эрдоган заявил, что его страна продолжит выполнять положения конвенции Монтрё до тех пор, «пока не появится подходящая замена».

Нужно отметить, что в 2016 году истек очередной 20-летний срок действия конвенции Монтрё. В 2014 году, т.е. за два года до конца очередного периода, никто не предложил её денонсировать, поэтому этот международный документ был автоматически продлен на следующие 20 лет.

Заметим, что режим прохода военных кораблей через проливы Босфор и Дарданеллы существенно различается. Согласно конвенции Монтре, страны черноморского региона могут проводить через проливы любые корабли, предварительно уведомляя Турцию. При этом для военных кораблей нечерноморских стран введены ограничения на класс, тоннаж и время пребывания в акватории Черного моря.

В настоящее время Эрдоган пытается внести изменения в Конституцию страны и убрать статью, которая запрещает ему отменять международные договоры, признанные местным парламентом. В случае отказа Турции от выполнения конвенции Монтрё, могут быть поставлены под сомнение границы этой страны, которые существуют с 1921 года, момента подписания Московского договора («договора о дружбе и братстве).

Учитывая резонанс, турецким властям пришлось дать официальное разъяснение по данному поводу. 15 апреля глава МИД Турции Мевлют Чавушоглу в интервью телеканалу NTV сказал, что его страна собирается выполнять конвенцию Монтрё в полном объеме.

Мы, как и раньше, продолжаем исполнять конвенцию Монтрё. Она четко ограничивает режим прохода военных кораблей. Мы продолжаем ее применять, никому не надо волноваться на этот счет

– подытожил турецкий министр.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. zzdimk Офлайн zzdimk
    zzdimk 15 апреля 2021 13:46
    0
    Вполне ожидаемо. Более того: канал рыть собираются именно для выхода из этой конвенции.
    1. Piramidon Офлайн Piramidon
      Piramidon (Степан) 15 апреля 2021 17:29
      +1
      Цитата: zzdimk
      канал рыть собираются именно для выхода из этой конвенции

      Уже с шумерами договорились на подряд? А с кем же еще? У них опыт многовековой.

  2. zzdimk Офлайн zzdimk
    zzdimk 15 апреля 2021 18:00
    0
    Цитата: Piramidon
    Цитата: zzdimk
    канал рыть собираются именно для выхода из этой конвенции

    Уже с шумерами договорились на подряд? А с кем же еще? У них опыт многовековой.

    Было бы весело, если бы их, укрошумеров, не толкали... Но это - не шумеры. С этими трудно быть очень осторожным. Иначе - Дагестан своим объявят. Но он - российский. После войны с Ираном.
    Я про Турцию. У них нет ни совести, ни нормальной истории.
  3. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 15 апреля 2021 20:36
    +1
    Турция член НАТО, несмотря на существующие проблемы. Главное, Стамбульский канал позволит увеличить поборы и существенно пополнить бюджет.
    1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 16 апреля 2021 20:10
      0
      Уважаемый аноним!
      Босфор и Дарданеллы международные проливы, использование которых определяются международным договором от 1936 г. Турецкая республика его неукоснительно выполняет.
      Это положение на сегодняшний день.